Getting it together

32 degrees.

Northwest headwind.

Forgot the lip balm.

But remembered the water.

As I leave the house, Jan counts the clothes I have on.

Two shoes

Two socks

Leg warmers

Shorts and chamios

Long-sleeve cold gear

Wind breaker

Head band – glad I wore this on the way in

Bandana – ditto

Skull Cap

Winter gloves (one right and one left, not like the other time)

Riding gloves

That comes to seventeen items, just to get to work.

It takes a while to change once I arrive.

The evening rides are over and I don’t mind these cooler morning commutes too much other than having my glasses fog up or the toes go numb.  When the temps start to tank I may rethink that.  The trip home is more tolerable and I am getting accustomed to cycling to work no matter what.  Sometimes on the way home I stop and chat with the crossing guard at Bingham Elementary or check the persimmon tree for any fruit collection.

To finish with, I present a picture of Hammond’s Field here in Springfield.  This is home to the AA Springfield Cardinals of the St. Louis Cardinals who start the World Series with the Texas Rangers tonight.  Go Cards!

Boy, look at that grass.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting it together

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    Great game last night. I’m glad Carpenter wasn’t injured when he made the play at first early in the game.

    32 degrees. Just think, another couple months and we’ll long for the days when the high will be 32 degrees 🙂

    • rlhoover says:

      To be truthful, I am not a big baseball fan and we did not watch the whole game. I will be happy if the Cards win, but if not, then that means an American League team won. I like the American League for some unknown reason.
      32 degrees for a high is not something to look forward to. Hope your winter is mild.

  2. My daily commute is only 4 miles. It now takes longer to dress/undress than the actual riding time.

Leave a Reply

