Get over it

I started serious cycling with a hybrid in the Spring of ’08.  I bought a rode bike a year later. Last summer, I acquired toe-clips for the hybrid.

While using the cleats and clips I have been able to avoid falling off a bike.  I have worked at it.  I have tried to pay close attention to what I was doing.  I did not want to fall.  Period.

Forget it.

This Sunday, Jan and I rode over to Nathaniel Greene Park.  Coming home we stopped at a bagel shop next to St. John’s hospital.  I pulled up next to the building, removed the left foot from the toe-clip and promptly fell over on my right side, smacking the wall on the way down.  This wall is like 13-grit sandpaper and did a number on my elbow, but that didn’t bother me.

I fell.

I was furious.

I worked hard to never see this day.

We sat on the patio, had a couple of oatmeal raisin cookies, laughed at my pride and headed home.

So now, I am like anyone else who takes up cycling as a serious past time.

Jan said nobody, on one, wanted to see the elbow.  I agree.  So here is the other side and I leave you with that.

Stay happy, and upright,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Get over it

  1. I have fallen at an intersection with traffic. Felt pretty stupid. Use toe clips now. What worked for others for years, works well for me. I’m not Lance.

    • rlhoover says:

      Whenever I start up again at an intersection, I always try to get in the toe-clips with one smooth motion. If I am going to commute, then I hate to look like a doofus. Have I got a problem or not?

  2. Well, now that we’re letting it all out and sharing our ‘tipping’ stories, I, after many years of telling my wife how to negotiate railroad tracks, got my front wheel caught in one and did a slow-motion slap onto the pavement. This is also a clipless pedal story, since my feet, rather than popping out of the bindings to keep me upright, stayed stuck in them and we all went down together.

    You are not alone. Bienvenue au club!

  3. Actually, the question to be answered is “How many people saw you fall?” If it was only Jan, I contend it’s sure to happen at least one more time so you can have the experience of going down in front of a crowd!

  4. Matt Gholson says:

    I fell pulling into a SAG stop on a big charity tour once, fell over in front of about 60 people half of which rushed over to make sure I was alright. My buddy said, don’t worry he does that all the time.

Leave a Reply

