Coming to a close

This week marks the end of the world daylight savings time.

I shake my head in wonder at those who are glad at this onslaught of night.

I discussed the imminent demise with fellow cyclist, Scotty.

“I’m already depressed.”

“Don’t be depressed, Scotty.”

“I am.”

“Is there anything I can do for you?”

“Talk to the President and get him to change this!”

Talk to the President.  Well, that’s not going to happen.  I’m not even going to talk about the President.  One point I am learning by writing this blog is to stick with what I know.  Things I don’t know about, like macroeconomics, speaking Spanish, or starting a chess game with e4, I stay away from.

At least the time change will only be for about four months.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coming to a close

  1. I can’t get it either. Don’t they consider cyclists when they change the clocks back?

    • rlhoover says:

      Most of my riding will be confined to the commute with no evening rides. I will probably be able to get a few projects done during the down time and maybe a ride on the weekend if weather permits. Have a good winter!

  2. Starting a chess game with e4? I’m impressed you even knew (or made up) that. I have no idea what that means. Good winter cycling site – icebike.org You’ve seen Matt Gholson’s handcrafted light. Or you can buy a good one without having an electronic background. Darkness is our friend if we light ourselves up. (Although I admit, that the 5 o’clock traffic seems a lot scarier in the dark than the 10 o’clock traffic used to during the summer.)

    • rlhoover says:

      I am impressed with Matt’s handiwork. Far and away above anything I could do. My wife and I both have good headlights. I am thinking of coming up with some sort of Christmas Display on the bike during the season. All white or green/red lights. My wife may be glad to see me leave the neighborhood for work each day if I am all decked out!

      E4 is a King’s Pawn opening. Most of my life I have preferred D4, the Queen’s Pawn opening. A matter of temperament.

      Stay bright and safe!

Leave a Reply

