Early signs

What with one thing or the other, I was not able to do the commute until the latter part of this week.  I need the truck to dump leaves and mail packages.  Christmas is coming!

The sun is back out after a short period of clouds, rain, sleet, and even some snow although I myself did not see any of the blessed white stuff.  I’ll be honest, people who love cloudy days, cold, snow, and Standard Time are out of their minds, IMHO.

Even though Springfield has added more bike lanes, I still enjoy riding on a street like Bennett, wide and no bike lanes.

Not much traffic

I also like Walnut at 6 a.m.

Walnut close to MSU

The yearly Turkey Trot is on Thanksgiving Day.  I noticed these route markings on the street yesterday.  I am not one much for running, but to each his own.

Christmas lights are starting to come out.  I may put some on our own bushes for when the grandchildren come.  I also plan on putting Christmas lights on the bike for the early morning dark segment.

I saw these on Boonville

I notice on the daily commute than even when taking the same route, variety is still present. The morning segment has its own fun and the going home segment is good since I am Going Home.

Waiting at Benton and Chestnut

The bike lanes on the MLK Bridge predated the newer ones on north Benton and Division.

If the city is adding the new bike lanes, then I wish they would put more effort into keeping them clean.

The doors are once more closed against the cold

I saw this fellow cyclist on Trafficway as I headed home yesterday.  I have not seen anyone riding the wrong side of the street in a long time.  Maybe we are all getting smarter.

The street/sewer repairs along Barnes and Monroe are expanding.  I know of a fellow that lives on Monroe and he has a heck of a time getting in and out.  In compensation, I hope that he can enjoy a good turkey dinner for Thanksgiving!

The commute is fun.  Headwind, tailwind, what does it matter?  We can get out there and ride.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Early signs

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    I hear you about standard time. I miss the sun after work. I’m also having to dig through the bottom dresser drawers for more bike clothes than ought to be necessary. In another month the days will start getting longer!

  2. tootlepedal says:

    The thing about cycle lanes next to roads is that they don’t have the benefit of the cars keeping them clean. In addition, the cars sweep gravel onto them. It’s a two way bad situation. One of the great unmentioned problems of cycle lanes for fast commuting or cycling when people ask for them is the cost of cleaning them up.

    • rlhoover says:

      I agree. These bike lanes give the appearance of dirt and glass magnets. I avoid them whenever I can and my driving friends are surprised at my actions until I explain to them what riding in them is like.

Leave a Reply

