Blessed

I have been a bit under the weather the past few days.  Nothing serious, but I left the bike in the garage and drove to work.  Miserable weather coincided with this decision so I am not too unhappy with this result.  I probably won’t get any time on wheels until Thanksgiving Day (and I wish you all, dear readers, a happy one at that!)

This past Sunday we went to Oklahoma to visit Jan’s second cousin, Dotty.  She is a nursing home resident in Bartlesville and will be 86 this week.  She loves to have us come and we always have a good time together talking about family members now gone and how the children and grandchildren that Jan and I have are doing.  I went out to Braum’s for lunch and we sat in her room eating hamburgers and fries with Cokes.

The drive through Oklahoma may be boring for some, but the terrain, flat as it is refreshes me in some way.  Maybe this is because we have good friends and memories from that state.

Will Rogers Turnpike on a cloudy day

We stop at the Miami rest area.  The bathrooms are clean, the coffee hot and the people friendly.  A few years back I had the chance to purchase an Oklahoma Centennial Belt Buckle on sale in their gift shop.  Stupid me passed it up and I have regretted my neglect ever since.  The folks there remembered the buckles and said that the last one they had was shop-lifted.  Maybe I can find one online somewhere.

For a Sunday morning the highway traffic was not too bad.  These rigs were parked in the rest stop lot.  It just looks like the fifth-wheel is being pulled by the blue rig.

After $1.75 worth of driving we exited at Vinita, which is just east of the McDonald’s/Glass House that stretches over the turnpike.  As a young boy I always looked forward to stopping there on our trips out west.  It was a good place to get a candy bar while Dad gassed the car up and we liked to stand over the highway and watch the cars zoom under us.

Drive up, pay up, drive on

Once through Vinita we took Hwy. 60 west, a two-lane road.  We did not see any wildlife other than the occasional hawk in a tree, looking for lunch.

I love this country and its rolling hills.

I would like to take a trail/mountain bike out on these side roads, but I guess that will never happen.

Sunday morning in Nowata

The tracks in the above view run north/south.  Quite often long trains with coal hoppers come through on the way north.  One can hear the horn for miles.  There are two ways through Nowata, and I know both of them.  After doing some driving comparisons, I figured that neither route had a time advantage over the other.

Once we got to Bartlesville, we stopped at Walmart to get Dotty some flowers.  While there we ran into a friend of ours, Maryjohn G.  How can I describe our delight at seeing this dear lady?  We realized that if our paths had varied by as little as thirty seconds, then we would not have seen each other.

Thanks, Lord, for this little bit of heaven

Who could have guessed that being in Walmart would have brought such a blessing?

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessed

  1. Steve says:

    I imagine no cycling is allowed on the turnpike, which is a shame because those shoulders are awesome!

    • rlhoover says:

      Steve, in the fifteen years or so of visiting Ok., the state has repaved it twice, so yes, right now it would be a good surface. But as I mentioned, the miles and miles of dirt farm roads are a good lure to trail biking. Maybe some day….

Leave a Reply

