Winter ride

Things about a cold ride:

1.  A north headwind is not fatal.

2.  Balaclavas do keep the face warm.

3.  No frosted windshields.

4.  I see others out there.

5.  The cat is kept inside.  I have to go outside….

6.  No noontime trips.

7.  I remember 95°.

8.  A cold blue sky.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter ride

  1. Steve says:

    I never complain about the heat, no matter how warm it gets. In this way, I reserve the right to moan about the cold, even though it doesn’t compare to your winters!

    • rlhoover says:

      We always hope for some sort of mild winter.

      I happened across a fellow commuter yesterday morning. Temp was about 20° and he had shorts on! His comment: “Not too bad out.”

      I don’t want to do that to my legs.

  2. Man, that guy sounds nuts to me! I’m a wimp when it comes to the cold, so I routinely overdress.

    • rlhoover says:

      I’m warm natured and don’t like to overheat in the cold, so I usually underdress a bit. The fellow whose path I crossed looked like he was in good physical shape and other than the shorts was dressed ok as far as I could tell.

Leave a Reply

