Glass

I write about bike lanes every once in a while.  I would like for the city to keep them cleaner.  For example, I saw this on the way home.

Maybe a collision occurred.

That is about an extreme section of glassed road that I have ever seen.  I am debating on taking a broom on the weekend and cleaning it up.  Jan would be glad to help so we just might do it.

I also want to publicly thank the driver on Trafficway that followed me on my way home.  He/She waited a bit before they could safely pass.  I was given a wide berth, and the four cars after did the same thing.  I appreciate the example given and how it was followed.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Glass

  1. Nice to hear about courteous drivers for a change.

    • rlhoover says:

      By and large, the Springfield drivers try to let you live. The worst of it comes when they impatiently thread the needle on two lane streets. That’s when I let out a yell.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    Bike lanes tacked onto roads are always fun.

  3. The one time I’ve called the city street department about glass and debris in the bike lane it was swept clean by the time I left work that day. Give them a call with the location and I’ll bet they get to it quickly.

  4. I, too, have noticed how one good apple pushes the whole apple-cart to the left lane. When a driver moves over, most will usually follow. I try when I’m driving (I drive for a living) to always set the example and try to start a trend.

Leave a Reply

