Monarch

One of the fellows at work ordered up a small gas engine for a bicycle.

That is a whole subject in itself.

The bike was in the back of his van.  He had gotten it from a scrap yard and identified it as a Monarch from around the mid-1930s.  The pedals did not match and the tires were in shreds.  The rack over the back tire was connected by a string to the seat post and I couldn’t read the head badge.

Fred, the new owner, said he was going to blast clean it with crushed walnut shells.  I had never heard of such a thing.  Apparently, the shells are not abrasive like sand but a bit more powdery.  He promised to bring the bike by when finished or provide pictures.  It should be fun to see how it ends up.  I hope the walnut shells don’t hurt it too much.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monarch

  1. I’ve often thought of having a little project like this, even though I don’t have the space, the know-how or the walnut shells. Good luck to your colleague. I look forward to seeing what magic he can do.

  2. Bill Lambert says:

    I have heard of that before, however, I’ve not seen the results. I even have a friend who has collected walnuts before and sold them for blasting.

    Definitely get some photos of the end result. It is cool that people can restore bikes like that.

Leave a Reply

