Spring’s coming

I leave the house early enough so streets were passable this morning.  The forecasters had warned us that an inch or two of snow was possible Monday night into this morning.  But things change and the weather is one of them.  We just had a light dusting and no ice.  A couple of times I doubted my sanity and so did some others at work, however I’ll drive later on.

Cold and dark

I had no problems and the few cars out at 6 a.m. behaved themselves.  The most fun came while crossing MLK bridge.  The pavement was totally dry, but that wind!  I tried to imagine 90° and almost did. Then here would come another gust and I came back to my senses, both of them. 

I am reminded of my older brother and parents who live in Florida.  They rarely suffer through this stuff.  Rick says one reason to live in Florida is that he can tell me I don’t.  I remind him that I have longer days in the summer.  I know that does not even things out (ask Jan) but it helps.

On another positive note, I see where the time for local sunset will start to reverse a week from this Thursday.  I have no sure idea why this occurs a week before the solstice.  It may be due to Earth’s orbit being an ellipse instead of a true circle.  Any other ideas out there?

 Stay happy,

 

 

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spring’s coming

  1. Ron, you probably already know these tips: 1. let air out of your tires when riding on snow – they’ll perform better (they’ll “float”) 2. use studded tires from now on – black ice doesn’t rattle a warning before it sends you to the pavement – if you only want one studded tire (they’re expensive) put it on the front. 3. Wear REALLY bright reflective clothing for early morning riding – most drivers have only scraped a small hole to see out of or they are peering under their windshield wipers where the defroster has started to work. Being seen is crucial. Other than that – happy winter cycling.

    • rlhoover says:

      Miles, thanks much for these tips. I don’t intend to do any real serious snow riding this time around, but I will do the tire fix. I already wear a PI Elite jacket (I was not paid to say that) and have gotten comments from cyclists and non-cyclists about how bright it is. It is my all-winter-jacket and I am delighted with it. I already have head and tail lights, but am thinking of getting more. Thanks, again.

  2. Steve says:

    The sunrise/sunset thing has to do with the Earth’s elliptical orbit and the sun’s declination. The net effect is that days are actually LONGER than 24 hours in the winter by about 30 seconds. Since the change in the sun’s declination is near zero as we approach the solstice, this small effect adds up and sunset actually occurs a minute or two later for awhile.

    Or something like that!

    • rlhoover says:

      I thought as much. Also I wonder if the perihelion (Jan. 4?) enters into it. The bottom line is that I want more sunshine and less cold, especially in the evening!!

  3. Bill Lambert says:

    Two good things about the cold: 1) it makes us appreciate the spring and summer more, and 2) ice fishing!

    • rlhoover says:

      I’ve never tried it, but a fellow at work from Wisconsin mentions that and other winter farm activities from his youth. He says he kinda misses the snow.

Leave a Reply

