Other activities

One cannot always ride.

Things, and I don’t mean Life, come into play that take priority.

Sometimes it’s bad weather, or less daylight, or yard work, or something else (like grandchildren visits) for which I switch gears.

I always have the commute to look forward to, but the recreational side of cycling usually gets curtailed in winter.  Except for the club New Year’s Day ride or the Super Bowl Day ride.  I try to do those.

I have a couple of former extracurricular activities.  I used to be somewhat of an amateur astronomer, but I decided that I liked my sleep.  There has always been chess.  The club meets Friday nights here in Springfield.  But to be good at chess (something I always wanted) takes time and consistent effort.  I choose not to put the time into either of those former activities.

On the garage front I got the bright idea a few years ago to make my own candles for Christmas luminaries.  I make them up starting about October by remelting and recasting used candles.  After I insert the wick, they work real well.

I don’t hunt or fish, but I like to read, usually non-fiction.  But this fall I picked up some Charles Dickens and Agatha Christie at a church bazaar.  So this winter after the evening chores are finished I will be heading back to the 19th century and trying to figure out who dun it.

I hope you have something as enjoyable.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Other activities

  1. R1 says:

    Agatha is 20th century. I didn’t think of Dickens as much of a mystery writer (he precedes Doyle whose Sherlock really brought that literary school into focus). And the one mystery Dickens wrote became more of a mystery than he probably intended since he died before completing it.

    R1

  2. Biking Brian says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Yes, I agree that chess takes a lot of time and effort just to “stay in the game”, so to speak, especially at the master level!

Leave a Reply

