Some call it progress

I have noticed at least a couple of places in our fair city that are undergoing major construction changes.

This location on south Glenstone used to have a large L-shaped strip mall that was mostly empty.  It has now been leveled and Walmart is putting in a grocery store.

As I understand it, this will be smaller that a usual Walmart or Super Center.  This can only mean much, much more traffic at Bennett and Glenstone, the next intersection south.  Bennett happens to be part of my morning route and is also used by many other commuters going to and from work.  I am always glad for the jobs that come to this area, but there is always a trade-off.

Just south of the Walmart location is a Brown Derby business that I visited when it was a Mr. Swiss [!] back in the early 70s.  I like to view its architecture and remember those days.

My friend Larry worked here when they sold hamburgers, etc.

The other change in the local landscape is on Chestnut east of Glenstone, just south of the old Lily Tulip plant, which has undergone its own change the past decades.

This location used to be covered with trees.  Jan and I have seen foxes in the area over the past years.  No more.  This change really hurt.  We enjoyed the small tract of trees and underbrush.  Just knowing it was there somehow helped.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Some call it progress

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    Progress has its price. Unfortunately the currency seems to be wildlife. We’ve got some major changes to the woods not far from our house. Some kind of big store, but not sure yet what it is.

  2. Someday, big box stores, payday lenders, liquor stores and “thrift” stores will be wall to wall. I’ve been looking online for “wooded” property to buy. As long as I pay the taxes, perhaps they can’t take it away from me. If I get any foxes on it (there are plenty around here), you can come sit on the porch of my cabin and help me enjoy watching them.

    • rlhoover says:

      I accept the invite. A number of years ago, while our children were young, we had a hard winter and I came home from work one day and the children excitedly told me that three deer had walked through our neighborhood. Sure enough, there were the tracks in the snow. They were heading for a large wooded area west of our block. They have never been back even though the area to our west is still woods. Save me a chair, Bro.

  3. I’m not sure ‘progress’ and ‘Walmart’ should be employed in the same paragraph, but that’s for another conversation. The thing I really need to know is, what’s a ‘Mr. Swiss’??

  4. tootlepedal says:

    If you ask why they are doing it, they say that you want it. They never actually seem to ask you if you want it though.

Leave a Reply

