End of year events

A major end of the year event happened today. I passed 3,000 miles for the year.  It happened on the commute home.  I stopped to celebrate….

Jan and I went out to eat.  More celebration.

On the way to eat we got a call from our son in Colorado.  He had gotten a raise.  His supervisor had found out that he was doing way more work than he had been hired on for. So, instead of lowering the work load, she raised his pay.  How ’bout that!  More celebration!

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to End of year events

  1. Steve says:

    Congratulations on reaching Mile #3,000. I’m right behind ya!

  2. 3000. You know that’s 4800 kilometers…doesn’t that sound better? Congratulations on the milestone!

    • rlhoover says:

      Thanks, Gerry. 4800 km does sound better. It makes me want to try for 5,000 (will it ever end?).

      Jan’s thankful for no injuries and she’s right. I thank the Lord for every safe turn of the wheel.

      Merry Christmas to you and Shako and here’s to a great New Year. -Ron

  3. Woohoo! Good job!

    I guess we were celebrating with you last night. We went out to eat too! But it was just cause I was cookin’ and don’t like leftovers. It sounds better to say we were celebrating with you, so that’s my story and I’m sticking with it!

  4. I always celebrate another milestone. In fact I named my self Miles Stoneman (mile(s)stone man) in 2006. Way to go.

    • rlhoover says:

      Thanks, Miles. There were times when I did not know if I would make it. Now I face the prospect of setting the goal next year a bit farther down the road. Merry Christmas!!

  5. tootlepedal says:

    That’s the trouble with goals, they make you work harder every year. Congratulations.

    • rlhoover says:

      Thank you, Tom. The urge to ride has now slackened a bit. No doubt it will return once Jan. 1 rolls around. One of these years I will just ride and not be so interested in mileage, etc.

      A Merry Christmas to you and your family and friends. May God bless.

Leave a Reply

