Feathered Friends

Jan’s second cousin lives in Bartlesville, Oklahoma.  Dotty is in her mid-80s and used to be an active member of the Audubon Society in that area.  We visit her every so often and through this relationship have come to enjoy birds and feeding them in our own neighborhood.

My camera is just a regular digital Nikon [I was not paid to say that] and does a good enough job for me.

What with the holiday time off from work, I will be refilling the feeders and enjoying the view.

A tip o’ the hat to Tootlepedal for his photographic inspiration.

This morning, the 23rd, I was able to get the luminaries all fixed up for tomorrow night.

Ready for sundown Christmas Eve

This year I am experimenting [read: micromanaging] with the placement of these luminaries along the driveway.  I put pink chalk marks every two feet down the driveway to mark locations.

My daughter will say that I am getting too much like the government.

I think the marks will help in case Evie wants to help.

Also, one more Christmas treat.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feathered Friends

  1. We, too, feed birds in the yard. I like the doves we gather, but I really like the little brown “parking lot birds” (not the official name). Every time one of them feeds at our feeders I remember the saying of Jesus about our Father being willing to feed us and using them as an example. In fact in one gospel, He says that they are 2 for a penny, while in another gospel, while telling a different group, he says they are 5 for 2 pennies. That means that if you are willing to buy 4 – they throw in one for free. And yet, God feeds and watches over them carefully – how much more my family! It makes me feel secure. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

