Cold and Clear

While I have this week off from work I am able to still get up early and ride a bit in the neighborhood.  So, Wednesday morning I got this shot of a sunrise from across Hwy 65.  It gave promise of a beautiful day.

Later that same morning we took a short trip to the north end of town to deliver some old cooking magazines to a friend.  She was delighted to get them.  On the way back home we passed through the Grant Street underpass, just north of Commercial.

I thought it looked a bit unusual until I found out that the single lane section was for the Springfield Traction Company trolleys, which were replaced by buses in 1938.  The double lane section was for horses and cars.  I remember as a very young boy seeing some of the tracks embedded in the cement streets around the central square of downtown Springfield. Some of them may still be there, buried under successive layers of asphalt and progress.

On Thursday afternoon, Jan and I took a spin around town since the weather was so inviting.  We stopped by to view the dormant rose garden at Phelps Grove Park.

Next summer I will take a new pic with all the blossoms in their glory

Over by the JQH Arena on the campus of Missouri State, these school buses showed that the annual Blue and Gold Basketball Tournament was in full swing

With students all gone, Drury University was all but deserted.

No students and no leaves

The year comes to a close.  Any final chances to ride need to be taken.  Next year I have decided to not only record mileage, but also any money found.  I decided to record the accumulation of added riches for the humor of you, by good readers, because we found 2¢ during out outing.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold and Clear

  1. R1 says:

    IRS trolls for cash everywhere so be careful about admitting to any “untaxed income” you may find.

  2. Bill Lambert says:

    My dad had a trolley line that went right past the house where he grew up, in Ft. Wayne. He used to take that quite a few places, although back in the 30’s and 40’s, it didn’t cover much of what the city now is. Still, those streets where the trolley ran are still nice and wide and are generally nice streets to ride bikes on.

    • rlhoover says:

      I guess one could say that the wide streets formerly used by trolleys are the unintended result that we cyclists can now enjoy.

      Funny how unforeseen things happen as the result of choices made.

Leave a Reply

