A Good End

Jan decided to shop today with our daughter, so I took out on a trip to Strafford and back. I have not done a road trip for some time.  I was curious to see how dilapidated I had become.  I did not have to wait too long.

Early on, I got caught by a train and so did circles in the road while waiting for it to pass.  I was not about to put my foot down and stand there!  These coal hoppers are headed out east toward Memphis and points beyond.  This same track goes through Rogersville, Fordland, Seymour, etc.

Just missed it

I picked a route that went north through the east side of Springfield and then east on the Old Wire Road.

Empty fields overlaying Springfield Underground quarry/storage facility on Lecompte Rd.

Fall and winter brings its own type of foliage.  I saw a couple of patches of cat tails and plenty of these red-berried shrubs along fence rows.

These are good to put in a fall bouquet.

I turned east on FR112.  Jan and I usually avoid this road due to a rough low water crossing.  However, the county has fixed it all up and it is now much better.

The 'bump' was hardly noticeable.

On down the road, a couple of pooches lazing in the sun decided that they needed a closer look at me.  They did not appear to be threatening, but I twice gave them a strong “NO!”.   They must have heard it before since they stopped in their tracks and just started looking around as if to say, “Who, me?”

FR112 proceeded with a long down hill until it reached the T intersection with FR249.  My top coasting speed reached over 37 mph, but with the STOP sign at the bottom and the left turn uphill to head north on FR249 I was soon back to a more normal 4 mph….

At this turn, I estimated that FR249 was uphill at a 1½% grade.  Soon, too soon, the grade went to about 3 or 4%.  I am only guessing.  Perhaps all of you good cycling readers can fill me in on just how elevations are determined.  Is it one foot in elevation for ten feet of distance, or something like that?  Yes, I know I could google it, but I still don’t have confidence in my ability to ask the correct question.  So show us some love and help a brother out.

At the top of one hill, resting, looking at the next and planning more rest.

I had the road to myself.  No one came by.  The views are captivating.  I love the trees and the vista off and down the west side.

Can you imagine how it will look in the spring?

This long row of pine trees suddenly reminded me of Florida.  Over the next rise is I-44 and the RR out of St. Louis through Rolla.  This made me remember the Battle of Wilson’s Creek and Gen. Lyon, who was the first Union general killed in action.  At that time, the RR only went as far as Rolla, 115 miles away.  Perhaps if it had come all the way to Springfield, an event which did not occur until 1870, Gen. Lyon would have been able to get enough troops quickly into southwest Missouri and thereby defeat the rebel forces under Gens. Price and McCulloch.  Pure speculation.

By the time I reached the south end of Strafford, the strong headwind and the recent climbs made me change my route a bit.  I stopped at the Strafford Senior Center instead of going on into town.  There I found some good folks, Peggy in particular, who helped me refill the water bottle and take a short respite from the travails of riding in the wind.

Perhaps I will stop by some future date and have a longer visit. Thanks, Peggy!

Now well watered, I headed home via Mo Rd YY [Division] and FR128.

Jan and I call FR128 by the name of Indigo Bunting Lane. This because we saw these bright blue birds in the fields here last summer.

I think I could also call FR128 Snake Road, since Sam and I saw a blue racer working its away across the asphalt one time.

I pumped my way over to Mo Hwy D [Sunshine] and came on home using Catalpa.  Before the final climb of the day (would they ever end?), I stopped at Jones’ Spring to gather my forces before the final assault.

A calm setting...

... before starting a final climb.

I ended up with a bit over 32 miles, which gave me a tad over 3100 for the year.

And this, my friends, is my final post and final road trip for 2011.  God has been good to us and has given us a large measure of protection while on the road, and to our family as well. I thank Him and ask for His blessings to be on all of you, my dear readers, for the new year.

I look forward to the new year and what it holds.  Until then,

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Good End

  1. Spectacular! The views are magnificent. That’s why I ride a bicycle. You just won’t see all of this from a car. And you won’t meet Peggy, because you won’t need to refill water bottles. Thank you for sharing your year with us.

  2. Bill Lambert says:

    Looks like you had a great ride to finish the year.

    Grade is figured by foot gain per one hundred feet. One foot gain would be 1%. Ten foot gain would be 10%. I figure a 1% gain is just noticeable, 5% makes me start to breathe, and 10% and above is just plain steep. But I’m a flatlander.

    • rlhoover says:

      I will then have to put an addendum to the post and re-figure those grades. It looks like they were bigger than I thought. We have flatland around here, but it gets mixed up pretty quickly sometimes.

  3. Chasing Fifty says:

    Sounds like a great final ride. I hope to squeeze in one last ride on Saturday, if the weather holds. Happy New Year!

  4. Shirley says:

    I enjoy your blog, Ron.

  5. Patrick McCrary says:

    Grade (%): equals rise/run X 100 or see the following article:

    http://www.bikesatwork.com/hauling-cargo-by-bike/how-to-measure-grade.html

    fun!

    Pat

Leave a Reply

