Oh Most Worthy Goals For 2012

I now enter into the End-Of-Year-Obligation for all those who look back over this past year and how they did on their goals and objectives.

I had two goals last year.

  1. Ride 3,000 miles
  2. Do a century

Did the first, failed on the second, but by doing the first, the failure on other was mitigated.

*******************

For the upcoming year, I thought I would branch out in what I would like to see done.  So, here goes.

Avoid stepping in animal waste (dog poop).  I cleaned my grandson’s shoes this past week, only to discover some on my own!!  Must do better.

Do not drop clothes pins while hanging clothes out to dry.  You don’t know how aggravated I get when this happens.

Try to grow a couple of persimmon trees.  These from the persimmons I get from a local tree, which had a good crop this past year.

Do better at helping Jan with the garden.  Especially the weeding part and cleaning garden tools when finished with them.  This could also be extended to helping Jan in everything else….

In general, toughen up.  A catch-all goal, not just health wise, but also spiritually, mentally, personal relationships, and at work.  Also thrown in is the determination to eliminate as much processed sugar out of my diet as I can and possibly pick up on some low level running.

Continue (please note the choice of word) to be kind to my daughter’s dogs so that they will not have anything to fear from me.  They are kinda wimpy.  Also, see top of list….

Keep the sock drawer neat and orderly.  “Ha!” -Jan.

Fireworks, LOUD FIREWORKS on Independence Day.  My favorite secular holiday.  With lots of smoke to drive away the mosquitoes!

And now for a few cycling goals.

Commute to work every day that I can.  Why not? and be safe at it, too.

Try to take a more active part in the local cycling community.  Not just more rides, but volunteering and helping out some.

Ride 3,500 miles.  With the commute, I should be able to do this one.

Do that century.  Jan wants to try for it also.

Ride the trails.  Three really, 1) the trail through the United States Air Force Academy, after seeing and kissing grandchildren, of course. 2) The local Frisco Highline Trail to Bolivar and back. 3) The Katy Trail here in Missouri.  I should be able to get two of these.  I have panniers so Jan and I should be able to do OK on the Katy at least.

Continue to find new routes.  Some routes I love, but I always like to see what else is out there, like FR249 from a couple of days ago.

To wrap it up,

Keep a positive outlook.  This will help overall.

Well, that should keep myself busy and occupied all year.  So, watch where you walk, make the year worth while for you and your loved ones and,

Stay happy

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Colorado Springs, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh Most Worthy Goals For 2012

  1. Worthy goals, all of them. You obviously don’t live in France with a dog poop goal, though! Good luck with the rest and I look forward to reading about you and Jan finishing that Century.

  2. I understand about the century. I set a goal one year and managed to do it, but as soon as I did I didn’t want to ride any more at all. These days I just focus on my overall mileage. The centuries come with time.

    • rlhoover says:

      Yes, overall mileage is Numero Uno. I did a century a couple of years ago. I must view it as some sort of Badge of Honor. After having done a few centuries (now there is an overextending statement!), it may not mean as much to me.

      I appreciated your own recent post and we (meaning my wife and I) always take note of the Katy Trail head whenever we pass through Clinton, Mo., planning some day to make it there to ride.

  3. tootlepedal says:

    Not dropping clothes pegs when you hang out the washing is impossible. Cross that one off your list and avoid disappointment. The others are all good.
    Happy new year. Centuries are easy if you can find a flat route.
    Just keep pedaling until it’s time to stop. You can do it.

    • rlhoover says:

      Yes, I guess I am striving for the impossible…. But regarding the century I can ride around my flat neighborhood block 300 times, but the neighbors would probably not want to hear me screaming in agony by lap twenty. I guess I will have to find another route.

  4. Pingback: A summing up | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

