View from a saddle Jan. 4, 2012

My world

The adventure this year that is called Ride My Bike To Work started out this week with clear, cold, windy days.  My father-in-law used to talk about days like this.

Wind out of the N and W is always apprciated on the way home.

Monday was the legal New Year’s holiday and I sure noticed a reduction in the traffic that day.  Here is Trafficway heading east under the Glenstone viaduct, often a place of problems when people are tempted to thread the needle when I am passing through (note the Bike Route sign!).  In fact, this happened to me a week or so before Christmas.  The culprit turned out to be my own neighbor!!  Now, what would you do?  On the way home this very evening, a driver did the same close maneuver, so close that I yelled at her.  She heard me since she turned her head, but proceeded on down the road.  One can only hope that she will not attempt it again.

Under this viaduct on both sides you can still see the old two-lane Glenstone pavement that used to be part of Route 66.

Dangers on the road besides drivers and glass are these spiney balls from gum trees.  They can be as treacherous as gravel.  Hmm, on second thought some folks might think me a danger on the road…

... weaving my way home...

Other worlds

My brother is a future cyclist who lives in Lakeland, Florida.  He sent a couple of pics of the bike/hike lanes that go through his neighborhood and around Lake Hollingsworth.  We were down there last February for a family reunion and the weather was so nice that, as I said at the time, I forgot is was winter.

Public education on the three foot law

Florida as a whole is just a large sand dune, that’s what Rick says.

Pretty level terrain all around

View of a crime scene

My son recently mentioned on Facebook the movie Bonnie and Clyde.  Now, I showed up on the scene long after these two murderers were gone.  But, they occasionally passed through Springfield and I found out that I have had a brush with them, so to speak.

In 1933 they kidnapped a Springfield police officer and released him later on out west toward Joplin.  What does this have to do with me?  I happen to pass through the intersection where the kidnapping took place on my commute to and from work.

Looking south across the MLK (formerly the Benton St. Viaduct) Bridge toward the Shrine Mosque, which is just right of center in the background.

B&C were coming north across the viaduct and turned east (left in the pic) onto the street between the bridge and the church on the left.  At that point they kidnapped the policeman that had stopped them.

It may be that the Shrine Mosque and the church are the only remaining structures in this part of town from that time frame.

May your own rides/life lack such an event!

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to View from a saddle Jan. 4, 2012

  1. I’ve always thought Florida’s nickname should be the Sandbar State.

  2. I have a “needle threading” place on my commute home. Two lanes become three (a right turn only lane) and pass under a highway. Illinois law allows me to take the full lane for my safety – and I do. I ride on the right “third” of the right lane (which moves to the middle lane) to disallow cars to get around me. I get honks and some who “crowd” me from behind, but no “needle threading”. {If I’m ever run over, please say something nice at the service.}

  3. I’ve never had any problems going under Glenstone, but I only travel that stretch on the way to work. Coming the other direction, I can see where the bike lane would give cars a false sense of where they should be expecting you to be, then it ends at the bridge.

    My solution to bike lanes is to always ride either on the white line or slightly left of it. I rarely get passed closely doing that, but if I ride in the actual lane, it’s almost certain that I’ll get buzzed too closely.

    Never knew that was the spot Bonnie and Clyde kidnapped that guy. I had heard the story, but never the details. Thanks for sharing.

    • rlhoover says:

      You’re welcome!

      Learing how to ride in traffic is a never ending education.

      Another bit regarding B & C and the Glenstone overpass in the picture: I once found a web site that claimed that B & C visited the small refurbished brick business on the east side of the overpass on Trafficway that has the date “1929” over the door. Remember, the overpass was not there in the 1930s and Glenstone (Route 66) was a two lane road that crossed Trafficway at that point. I have never been able to refind the web site that made the claim.

Leave a Reply

