Going to work in January

Even with the daylight hours getting noticeably longer, I still have the morning commute before the sun rises.  Some might not know what that is like, so I will show you some selected pics from a usual day’s commute.

Very soon after I shut the alarm off, I see this

Blueberries make all the difference

I get all my gear ready to go the night before.  All that is left is to eat, get dressed up and open the garage door.  The apparent red lights on the truck and car are due to the flash.

Streets are pretty well deserted at 6am, and dark when no street lights are around.  Sometimes I see walkers or runners out getting their exercise.

I happen to be going north on Delaware in this view. It has been repaved and smoothed out.

The downtown section of Springfield can be quite lit up.

Still no traffic to speak of.

When I arrive at work I stash most of my gear in the pannier before heading in.  I am able to store the bike inside, something I appreciate.

The trip home will naturally have more traffic, but I get home before the afternoon rush.

The mild winter will end one of these days and a blue sky will be a fleeting memory.

Clouds in advance of snow

Home again and ready to repeat the next day.

The ten to twelve miles a day on the commute is good, but it does not really advance my attempt at being fit.  I guess I should push the speed more, which would allow me to add in a few detours and miles in addition.  Overall, the commute is peaceful and something to enjoy.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

