Fellow Rider

With a three-day weekend, I was going to be able to do both some riding and some chores around the home.

I got an email from Tracy Wilkins asking if I would be able to ride on Monday.  That may have been difficult, so I countered with possibly on Saturday, and he accepted.  We started from his home after lunch and he led the way out east toward Rogersville High School.

Tracy, a fellow rider. Time to tell the truth, I rarely got in front of him!

We both live on the east side of town and any route east toward Rogersville, Fordland, or Ozark will take you down through the James River valley and up the other side.  We ended up on the Old Sunshine Road.  I remember as a very young boy my dad taking my two brothers and me out on this old road to swim at a spot on the James River.  I don’t get too much swimming in these days.

Tracy is in fine physical shape, way better than I am.  I expected a good ride and workout and he did not disappoint.  He set a good pace right from the start.  I determined to try and  do my best and when I lagged behind on the hills (more than once because he is a good climber on these Ozark slopes) I just kept my head down and ground it out.

My partner knew, by experience, this early part of our ride.  Of the two routes out of the valley, he picked the one that was long and gradual.  Once we got out of the valley, the terrain smoothed out and the level fields of east Greene County sure looked nice.

Some livestock was out, but not a lot.

The day was perfect except for a Brisk NW wind that was at our backs going out.  Coming in was another tale.  These fields have their own beauty in winter.

I took note of the blue in the sky, no doubt as a result of low humidity.

At about the twelve mile mark, we turned back west for the way home.  We both know these roads, but Tracy had a route picked out that introduced me to some lanes that I knew of, but had not ridden.  We came back down the valley and passed Turner’s Station.

If you come the opposite direction, this route is short and severe.  Wow, look at that sky.

Following a westward pull on Hwy D (Sunshine), we did a final detour down to the Old Sunshine Road and headed on in.  I see more rides in the future, which is good.

Back home, Tracy’s comment summed it up, “It’s all good!”

That's right, bro, Amen.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fellow Rider

  1. Pingback: A Windy Saturday « SpringfieldCyclist.com – Tracy Wilkins’ Cycling Weblog

  2. Mike says:

    Bookmarked your blog as fav after being directed here by Tracy’s, Always nice to read other perspectives.

  3. You’ll have to remember to ask Boyd sometime about his riding experience when he was quite young and adventurous. I think he was on Old Sunshine and missed a turn. I do think there was some horsing around with the bike involved though.

    • rlhoover says:

      Youth+bicycle=Horsing around. I can see that. As a young fellow, my own brother tried to go down a hill with his eyes shut. He ended up down the hill… but off the road. I think he did it on a dare. I hope you clicked on the link and read Tracy’s account.

  4. Steve says:

    Nice ride report. Do you know each other apart from the blogosphere?

  5. tootlepedal says:

    Blue skies…..lovely.

Leave a Reply

