Rainforaday

Yes, it rained today.  No, I did not ride.

Cold and drizzely

But in the meantime, look at these crocus that are coming up in the front yard!!

Yes, they will in all probability get frosted, but this stuff wasn't happening three months ago! Spring is coming!

No, I don’t like to ride in a winter rain.  I don’t expect my hard-core commuting friends to reject me since they may have acted likewise earlier in their lives.  Perhaps I will get a good set of rain gear and try some wet rain-riding to work and home.  Perhaps.

Speaking gear, I invite you to celebrate with me.  Last April I bought fenders and panniers for the Steed.

Based on three criteria:  1) Current price of gas when I fill the truck 2) Distance to work (ten miles rounded off) 3) MPG as used by the truck (this varies), I have saved enough on gas by commuting to pay for these new additions.  Hooray.  I will take Jan out to dinner and not invite our daughter, HA!  I’ll hear about that one….

I know there are folks out there who sometimes struggle in the morning to do the commute, but I am not to that place yet, if ever.  I am still experiencing the ‘I Find It Hard To Grasp That I Am So Blessed To Be Able To Do This!’ phase of cycling.  I have gone out to the garage for something, seen the bikes, and broken out into a stupid grin.  I know all seasons of life pass and this will too.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rainforaday

  1. Shirley says:

    I don’t ride nearly as much as you, but I love to ride my bike. I am only a “fair weather” rider, so I am anxious for the warmer weather to arrive.

  2. A sturdy-looking Bianchi you have there. I wish I had somewhere to commute to. I’d surely go by bike…

    • rlhoover says:

      I guess working at home could have its drawbacks.

      This a.m. I rode to work in a constant mist. So all that blather about not riding in rain in winter turned out to be just that. Blather. Hope your Springtime hurries up!

  3. I have driven all week. I feel a little guilty when I seen my bike. And I have rain gear – just not the motivation this week.

    • rlhoover says:

      Consider yourself absolved by a fellow cyclist who has experienced the same.

      Things seem to go in cycles [no pun intended!]. I would suspect the motivation will arise soon enough and you will once more be tearing up the asphalt!

  4. Steve says:

    I am not a hard-core commuter and I therefore understand completely!

    • rlhoover says:

      You Sir, are a kindred soul. I salute you!

      I see change in myself over the years. When I started commuting, 40° was horribly, bone-chilling cold. Now, that temp is Spring like. But I admit the major change is due to proper gear for myself and the Steed.

  5. R1 says:

    In re calculating the savings and costs, you should figure in the LONGER TIME your commute takes … time not spent earning moolah or watching Buster Keaton movies. Time lost forever!!

    R1

Leave a Reply

