Seen

I continue in a similar vein from the previous post.

Our son went along with some friends to Breckenridge last weekend in Colorado.  He sent this pic of a Surly Pugsley.  Sam reported that the owner said it worked well in snow, but not the fluffy kind.

major tires

And a pic of the snow in the Springs that arrived Thursday night.

No work today in the Springs.

Other sights come from Kyle, a friend at work.  Over Christmas break he visited family in Washington state.  He rode some mountain trails near Carson, Wa.

Looking south, that is Oregon in the distance and fog over the Columbia River.

Other views from Kyle are from the dry Sac trail here in the Ozarks.

One of many 'caves' in the area.

Two trees gettin’ down.

On the garden front, we got 400 pounds of manure.

I must take a moment to explain the two ways to say the word, ‘manure’.  We have always put the accent on the second syllable, as in ma-Nure.  But a couple of years ago we heard a Missouri Extension Officer here in Greene County that put the accent on the first syllable, Man-ure.  So now we have changed out pronunciation.  Aren’t you relieved?

But back to the matter at hand, Jan moved all 400 pounds from the front to the back [by herself!] and I tilled it upon arriving home from work.

I am no Tarzan, but Jan{e} did all the heavy work.....

All I can boast about is that I got the tiller started on the second pull!

After Jan's heavy labor, I was just left holding the bags.

I end with a bit of magnet poetry from the Bicycle Magnet Poetry set that our daughter got me for Christmas.  Oh yes, I was not paid to mention it.

Words to ponder

Regards and blessings on you all.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Colorado Springs, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seen

  1. Steve Thompson says:

    In one pic, the cat looks like he has found a fantastic litter box.

  2. 400 lbs of MAN-ure? This is an election year. Plenty more where that came from, I think.

  3. tootlepedal says:

    I like your raised beds. They look to be a good size for working round.

    • rlhoover says:

      They are my wife’s idea and our joint effort. Yes they are quite easy to work in and keep weeded. I don’t know if she wants to add anymore, but I am willing to do so if requested. We have much enjoyed the pics on your recent blogs, especially the snow scenes. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

