Day Trip

Friday we took a day trip to Oklahoma to visit some family.  I might have mentioned Dotty in previous posts.  She is a former member of the Audubon Society and could name birds by sight, flight, or song.  Her health is not good and we decided to see her now.

I share a few sights from the trip.

This contraption is either on the way to be built up or torn down.

The road out west of Vinita, Hwy. 60, is closed due to bridge repair, so we left the turnpike at Miami (pronounced my-A-mah in a rather drawn way) and took Hwy 10 west through Welch to Lenapah and hence south to Nowata and on west to Bartlesville.

These final pics are from our travels west and back east on Hwy 10.

I didn't see a license on either dog or truck

The morning was misty, cloudy and cold.

Jan said you would need a mud room to live in this country in this weather

All together we saw about two dozen hawks, red tail and other types.  Most were on the fence lines or tree limbs, some in the air motionless and struggling against a strong north wind.  One was eating breakfast by the road, ignoring speeding traffic.

We had a real good visit.  It may have been the last.

The clouds cleared by the time we headed home.  The last two views are from a 90° turn on Hwy 10.  I have always loved this vista.

You cannot tell it, but the wind was howling.  This is Oklahoma to me.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day Trip

  1. Steve says:

    I have a story about Nowata……….

  2. Shirley says:

    I enjoy reading your posts, Ron. Thanks for sharing your stories.

  3. Pingback: West of Home | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

