View from the saddle – February 25, 2012

Wind has been the main companion this past week, but no complaints about Thursday. That day I had tailwinds on the way to work and on the way home.  A cold front came through and reversed the wind direction!  Every once in a while a rider will get blessed like that.

Morning light is increasing. But after the time change, I will get to see it grow all over again.

On certain days, the breeze helped with the overall speed.  These clouds were evidence of the west wind that pushed me home on Thursday.

I would like to have seen a time lapse of this sky.

I don’t always have my eyes skyward.  These tree roots have been stymied by the curb.

I wondered at the curb not being damaged by now.

As I passed the Springfield Cardinal stadium, Hammond’s Field, I saw my friend Chris.  He drives for FedEx and does deliveries to where I work.  We have become pals and he is a commuter as well and a trail rider on the weekends.

It's always good to see a friend.

My commute takes me across some RR tracks, but I rarely get delayed by passing trains. Not so yesterday.

These empty coal hoppers are coming back from the James River Power Plant. I rode circles in the street while waiting for it to pass. I did not want any drivers to think I was a slacker, and since I can't track stand I had to keep moving.

This WalMart Market that I mentioned in an earlier post is coming along. The outer shell appears to be finished.

Final observation, the objection to which will not be countenanced. 

My readers (dear ones, all of you) may recall that one of my goals for the year is not to drop any clothespins while helping Jan hang out the clothes to dry.

Well, Jan started the laundry this a.m. and then went to attend a Master Gardener seminar in Nixa.  I stayed home to work on the yard, this blog, and hang the clothes out to dry.

While diligently performing my task, I happened to knock the clothespin bag from off of the line.

This bag has 15 pins inside of it.

In a flash, I rejected any accusation that I had Failed in my goal.  I unilaterally and categorically DENY ANY statement to the contrary!

Let the record show, I have NOT, so far, dropped any clothespins for the year 2012.

I encourage you to,

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to View from the saddle – February 25, 2012

  1. I don’t see any clothespins on the ground. All I see is a bag. The clothespins aren’t on the ground because there is cloth between the pins and the ground. ;P

    Yesterday’s clouds were amazing all day. I sat on the bridge at lunch and kept thinking about the amazing photos I would get after work. Sadly, by the time I left at 5:30, the skies over Springfield were clear.

  2. R1 says:

    I suggest you alter your statement so as to read “I have not dropped any clothespins for the year 2013.” This statement is true and I propose that bicycle riders would never notice. [Let the record further show that the writer of this blog is not in agreement with this statement!!] My popcorn is ready as am I for the fireworks show I now expect.
    R1

    • rlhoover says:

      As to goals for 2013, I suspect that I will have quite enough trouble with this year’s goals before troubling myself over the future.

      Popcorn is a good idea for The Fourth. I will join you in that.

  3. Looks like you are avoiding the snow and cold that my friends further east have been complaining about. That’s good to see.

Leave a Reply

