A Warm Gentle Breeze

Sun.  

Blue skies.  

The songs of robins and cardinals. 

The change of seasons has started.

Always a delight

The lilac florets will soon give off their aroma.

We had plenty of rain on Sunday, however, I failed to turn the rain barrels over and so missed all of it.  But the year is young.

I almost got the lawn mower out last night, but again, the year is young

I raked up a couple of more bags of leaves out of the corners and checked on my new volunteer oak tree.  God willing, it should be a fine specimen in the years to come.

This pic and the ones to follow I took while out at lunch the other day. The neighborhood where I work is full of color.

A tulip tree

Front yard flowers

Another tulip tree. I love them, therefore you have to look at one again

Nicely shaped forsythia. I remember back in the 1990s, up toward Camdenton, Missouri, a land owner had alternated forsythia and redbud along the highway. When they were in bloom the yellow and red colors were a banquet for the eyes.

A bloomless magnolia. But just wait. I will get some blossoms from off of this tree for our dinner table yet.

A white-flowered plant of unknown type

And the elegant bradford pear. Their aroma can be described as either dirty feet or dead meat.

The smell of the bradford pear reminded me of a corpse flower that is here in Springfield.  The owner had it on display at Nathanael Greene Park during the Spring of 2010.  Jan and I biked or drove over each day to look at (and smell!) it.

The flower prior to opening

 

Jan planted potatoes the other day. 

Starting the garden and the change to daylight savings time lightens the heart.

I am ready to see green.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Warm Gentle Breeze

  1. Already got out the lawnmower once. Knocked down the high spots. Looks like I need to again. Longer days, but less time for bicycling since I’m too cheap to pay someone to cut my grass.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I did a bit of gentle moss pressing yesterday. Too early to call it lawn mowing yet though. Very nice pictures.

Leave a Reply

