First of many

Last Friday afternoon, Jan and I got out for the first joint ride of the year, the first of many.

We picked a starting point on the east side of Springfield and went out to Strafford and back.  The cows were out and so were all the clouds.

Contented cows

This season's calf. Look how white it is.

The wind was a crosswind for most of the ride, out of the south.  We didn’t hear frogs singing, I guess they will come in a few weeks.

We noticed some of the climbs were not as bad as last year.  That matches what Jan has been told at the gym.  If you keep your activity up, then you just build from the previous year.

On one particular stretch, I always try to see how fast I can go and for how long.  I had a good head wind and got up to a little over 25 mph for about fifteen seconds.  Not bad I thought.

In addition to the cows, the farmers were out preparing their fields.

We had no trouble at all reaching Strafford and were soon on the way home.  This was just a short late afternoon ride.

From the I-44/744 bridge, looking west

The clouds were a promise of coming rain, and rain we have now had for most of the week. But the weekend looks clear, so we’ll be doing yard work and riding.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First of many

  1. Great pictures. All “calendar” worthy. You should make a calender – Bicycling around Springfield. Make lots of money.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I am glad the hills are getting easier. As my mother always said to me, “Practice makes perfect.”

Leave a Reply

