This an’ that in late March

Broken spokes defeat me.

But I was able to re-center my front fender.  I thank God for minor victories.

OK, it may not look all that centered, but the left support strut is no longer so close to the tire.

Jan and I were able to get out last weekend for a couple of trips.  We don’t push the speed too much, but then we don’t drag our feet on the downhill either.  We met Chris on Lecompte Road on the way out to Strafford and Tracy and Mike on the way home.  It started to feel like Old Home Week.  I did not bring the camera, but Tracy commemorated the event here.

Our second trip was to Rogersville, Sunday afternoon.  The winds had finally lessened their intensity and we enjoyed the blue skies.

The fields are starting to green up

The usual cows were out, but so were many horses.

We went east on County Line Road and turned south on Finbrooke to county road U.  The county roads designated by letter usually have more traffic than the numbered ‘Farm Roads’, but this afternoon found both types of lanes mostly vehicle free.

Somehow, the potholes had not healed up over the winter

Bare trees give interesting views.

We passed Elm Grove Methodist Church on county road U.  One can turn north here, but we went on to Hwy VV.

Jan remembers stopping here to rest on a long ride a few years back. I would say her conditioning has much improved since then.

We turned north on VV and did not stay on U. We decided to avoid the large valley and climb that was east of these signs.

After a rest stop at Rogersville, the return to the car was pretty uneventful.  This was a relief since the last time we were on FR186, a driver tried to pass us on a hill.  Some folks arn’t too bright.

Riding with Jan is one of the most enjoyable events in my life and I consider myself blessed to have her on the road beside me.

On the home front, our yard is leaving behind all evidence of Winter.

Jan trimmed back the lilac a couple of years ago and it is busting out now

We have a strange cat. We have seen her eating lettuce out of the raised bed.

The roses will soom be gracing the dinner table

Our daughter does not like it when I have to mow down the wild violets

I found this oak tree last year in an ideal spot and I left it alone. It has started to leaf out!

This walnut tree from one of the raised beds has now budded

And to end on a high note, our grandchildren and daughter in law are in town for the week.  Their visits have been a delight.

Max taking in the local wildlife

Evie looking at the first worm of the season. She worked up her courage to hold it. "It tickles my hand!"

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This an’ that in late March

  1. One of our cats eats the leaves off of our bamboo plants. I’m not sure if bamboo is lucky, but it plainly is tasty.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    What a lovely lilac. I glad you had a good weekend of pedalling.

Leave a Reply

