Noontime views

“Hey, Ron!  I rode in today.  Come over and see my bike.”

I wondered if Fred was talking about the Monarch, but no, this was a CruiserElite with a gas engine.  I went over at lunch to check it out.

He said his top speed was around 35 mph.  I love the panniers.  Fred offered to let me try it out and I should have taken him up on it.  Jan talks about getting a scooter some day and if she does so, then I can ride hers.

I left Fred and headed over to the neighborhood around St. Joseph’s Catholic Church to get some pics of some of the houses.

Joe, one of our carpenters here at work, lives in this area and he once described how he turned the front parlor into a master bedroom.  He removed the parlor door that opened onto the front porch.  He told me how his home used to have two front doors.  One door was for the family to use in entering the main quarters and the other door led into the front parlor which was used for entertaining guests visitors, spending the evening with the family or in the case of a death, the wake.

I found this fact interesting and therefore, you, my dear readers, will have to look at pictures of houses that I found that reflect this Victorian architecture.

The yellow dot marks the front parlor door

I found a few homes where the front parlor door had been removed and the gap walled up.

This home had the front parlor on the other side of the structure, the door now removed

And the last sight I viewed on that day’s noon ride was the repaving of the sidewalk on the Washington St. underpass, north of Commercial.  It is always good to see progress.

The RR tracts can lead out to St. Louis or Memphis to the east or Kansas and Oklahoma to the west

We have rain coming in the next few days so there will not be too much riding at noon for a while.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Noontime views

  1. tootlepedal says:

    The houses have elegant roofs.

  2. Glen Guiney says:

    Ron, that gas-powered bike reminds me of the old bike my Dad used in the 1940’s to get back and forth to work. It was equipped with a Whizzer motor. When he no longer needed it, he removed the motor (so that it was a regular bicycle) and gave it to my oldest brother to ride. When Carl left to go to CBI in Springfield, my brother Paul inherited it; then my brother Dale, and finally it came to me and I used it on my first job–delivering telegrams for Western Union. Finally in 1967 I made enough money to buy me a new Schwinn 10-speed! I still have the Schwinn bicyle (after 45 years) as my only bicycle and it looks good as new! It’s the same bicycle that I rode from Indiana to Kansas with my brother in 1971–and I’ve ridden it on a number of sponsored bike rides too. I get lots of stares and comments when I ride my “antique” bicycle! Glen

    • rlhoover says:

      I remember you showing me the newpaper photo of you and your brother from somewhere inbetween Indiana and Kansas. I remember the tilt of your saddle. I used to have a ten speed also, but it was stolen. Keep riding!

  3. Bill Lambert says:

    We just moved this past fall out of a 130-year-old farmhouse that had a parlor door. The parlor had an interior 5-foot wide sliding pocket door.

    As for the bike, I am speechless!

    • rlhoover says:

      I bet your former house had a lot of ‘character’! As for the bike, I may take Fred up on his offer to let me ride it. I will keep you informed.

  4. Steve says:

    If the architecture of homes interests you, then I commend Bill Bryson’s book, At Home, in which is discusses why our homes look the way they do (who said the bedrooms are supposed to be upstairs and there needs to be a front hallway – or parlor for that matter?).

    • rlhoover says:

      Maybe the front hallway harkened back to the time when mankind lived in caves…….

      • Steve says:

        At the risk of providing information that really isn’t asked for, the reason we have a front hallway is that originally the ENTIRE HOUSE was the hallway, thus the term Great Hall. Everyone ate, slept, and made babies all in one space. As the local aristocracy got a little wealthier, they would eventually begin adding rooms and floors to to the structure until the hall was merely just a passageway to get to the different rooms.

Leave a Reply

