The future

Back in 1999 a squirrel hid an acorn in our back yard and the following spring I noticed a small oak coming up in a spot that was just right.

Fast forward a dozen years and that oak tree now gives me a lot of joy.

I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before now, but this Spring I transplanted a few oak and walnut trees that came up in the garden.  In years to come, I may be able to really enjoy their beauty and others may also.

A walnut placed in the front yard in the middle of some cannas.

That walnut is the only tree new to the front yard.  A few years ago I got an oak from the Missouri Conservation Department.  I planted it close to where this walnut is.  But when I mowed the grass later in the week, it was gone.  Maybe it was eaten.

This walnut was transplanted with the help of our granddaughter, Evie. She also loves to pick green beans while Max just likes to dig in the dirt. In the background is my second attempt to grow persimmon trees.

We have a persimmon tree in the neighborhood that I have mentioned before.  They bear fruit when you have a male/female arraignment.  I may not live long enough to see any fruit, even if the trees show up in the first place.

Another transplanted walnut close to one that we got from a plant sale a few years back. This second walnut is now about twelve or thirteen feet high. Unfortunately, it got topped last year in a severe rain storm. A secondary branch has now taken over the task of being the main trunk.

Our back yard has limited open space for trees.  Any space that we have is being used for gardening purposes.  Jan has six raised beds and might add more in the future.

This final walnut shows the shaded area that it ended up in. Most of the shade during the day is from the white dogwood.

An oak in the shade of the dogwood and the original oak tree from 2000. It will have to fight to get any growth. I will help it of course.

I transplanted all these oaks from the raised beds.  It was quite easy to remove them whole and intact and give them a new home.

Here are two oaks, one upper left and the other lower right. I worry about them and they may not do well at all. They will make it if I can help it.

The final picture is of an oak set out in the sun and closely watched and guarded.  I have high hopes for this one, even thought it is small.  You may have heard the saying, “From the small acorn doth the mighty oak grow.”

Such small leaves.

So, there you have it.  Something besides cycling that I enjoy.  If these ‘children’ of mine do any good, you will see pictures of their progress over the years.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The future

  1. It has been said that the best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. And the second best time is today.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I hope you enjoy them all for many years.

Leave a Reply

