More Public Art (Is that what they call it??)

I saw some recent additions to Public Art the other day.

These samples adorn street water drains in our downtown Springfield area.  They are in addition to other examples I saw last year.

This artwork is designed to encourage people to remember that whatever goes down these drains can end up in Jordan Valley Creek

I wonder who, or whom, the city got to paint these

I like this one. Note the Hammonds Field at the upper left. The 'Rest Haven Court' is an icon along the historic Route 66 that passed through Springfield way back when. In the middle is a depiction of Hammond's Tower, the tallest building (so far) in Springfield.

I should also note that Hammond’s Tower is where fellow Springfield cyclist/runner Jim Phillips works.  He rides his bike so much that by now he may have forgotten how to open a car door. 🙂

My dear readers will remember that I love trees. Therefore, this is a good painting

This mural is one of many in the downtown area.

Some street art means something to me.  Riders see these types of markings all over the county.  These direct riders on the yearly Tour de Cox.

Three routes for 26, 42, or 62 miles

I noticed this interesting home located next to some RR tracks between Division and Calhoun.

The house is really level, my hand is not

Some folks adorn their front door with flowers.

A home on Webster Street

This owner wrapped what may have been an old hitching or mailbox post.

Looks like a small May Pole

But when it comes to outdoor art, pale blue with a pink border is my favorite at this time of year.

Get out there and keep the wheels spinning.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Public Art (Is that what they call it??)

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Being an ex-teacher I know where the art work was done. Whenever you have a nifty civic sheme the cry goes up, “Let’s get the kids involved.” They have to do it if the teachers agree whether they like it or not. I like the tilting house a lot. Keep your hand wobbly.

  2. rlhoover says:

    Tom, I took the picture of the tilting house on the fly. We cyclists never like to stop unless we are forced to do so.

    On a more personal note, the next picture (the home with the flowers on the door) is where my mother lived before she married dad. That is why I included it. I just came up with the ‘flowers on the door’ comment to keep with the theme of the post.

  3. Jim says:

    Thanks, Ron! One of these days I will stop riding long enough to maybe write something again. We still need to get together for a longer ride one of these days!

  4. I like street art. I don’t like route cues painted on the street. Streets are public property, and if the “art” doesn’t benefit the whole community, it’s graffiti. I think route cues are graffiti. Organizers prepare cue sheets, which riders throw away, because the streets are painted. Bah.

Leave a Reply

