West of Home

I live under the influence of the idea that life is better the closer you get to the Pacific Ocean.  Summed up in the saying, “Go west, young man”, this outlook currently excludes California (but not northern California, which should be a separate state.)

Letting the Howls from that western state subside, I continue.

We took a short trip down to Tulsa (west of the Ozarks) this past weekend.  A friend of Jan’s who currently lives in “that western state” had been born and raised in Tulsa.  She returned to celebrate a milestone birthday with her family and invited us to come.

Our daughter checked on the house and cat while we were gone.  We left her a note, part of which said, “Don’t look in the trash.  There is no need for you to know what we took with us and besides that, we did not leave any behind.  –Love, your adoring Parents”

Friday evening we had dinner at the Depot Cafe in Nowata with friends Linda and Gary.  This cafe used to be the RR depot in Nowata.  The tracks, about fifteen feet from the windows, are still used and three trains roared by the cafe during our dinner.  I love trains and they are a good thing to watch while munching on a hamburger.  From Nowata we could have gone on to Tulsa, but we instead went on over to Bartlesville to visit Dotty’s grave.  From there we headed south and arrived at one of the many hotels in Tulsa and went on over to Gerry’s nephew’s home to see her.

The following morning we picked up Gerry and had breakfast at Cracker Barrel.

Jan and Gerry heading in

Once we got to our table this picture was this on the wall next to me.

 

I love icons and I might get fired up and draw this in chalk on my garage wall.  And no, I don’t think that would be disrespectful in any way.

That afternoon we visited a couple of Tulsa bike shops.  They had a nice selection to pick from.  A friend of ours recently got a Specialized Venge.  This shop had one for us to inspect.

 

Saturday evening we went looking for the ORU campus.  The first time I ever came here was in ’63 or ’64.  This tower was built since then and this was my first view of it.

 

The trip home on Sunday went quickly, until we got to the toll both south of Vinita.  Leave it to me to pick the SLOW LANE.  When it came turn for the truck in front of us, the lane attendant had a long talk with the driver and then came out of the booth to write down the license plate number…. …. ….  But I was good, when it came our turn I greeted her cheerily and told her it was all in a day’s work when she apologized for the delay.

We came home to flowers busting out all over the yard.

Clematis

Jan’s Double Delight Rose which smells as good as it looks

I also found where BOTH plantings of persimmons seeds had sprouted!

here…

… and here

I have no idea if we will live long enough to enjoy the fruit, but that is ok.  Someone will.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

