Out There

School is now out and it is definitely easier to ride through the school zones sans kids.

I am aware that many people across the country say things like, “If you don’t like the weather, wait a while.  It will change soon.”  But that is in fact what we have had here in the Ozarks this past week.  Tuesday morning on the commute, I experienced a 39° wind chill and then on Friday we hit the low 90s.  I was glad to have dressed appropriately for those days.

Tuesday evening Jan and I were able to join Donnie and Scott for a short ride on the Frisco Highline Trail, a rails-to-trails from Springfield to Bolivar.  This was Scott’s first time out since the end of March.  He had been doing a lot of extra work lately, and regretted not being able to ride during the fair weather we have had this Spring.

There were four of us as we started out.

The route we took was used by the Tour of Missouri a few years back.  It went by one of the two pet cemeteries in town.  By the way, I do not have any pets here.

We soon met up with John and Steve.  John works in IT at one of the local hospitals and was on call that evening.  He said that as long as he is within 30 minutes of home, he’ll be OK.  He went with us for a bit (“I’ll turn back at that T intersection down there.”).  And then a little bit more (“Well, I think I’ll go up to where you cross the trail.”)  Just a wee bit more (“McDonald’s isn’t too far.”)  We all pulled into McDs where John said his farewells, still waiting for a call that probably never came.

John, Donnie, and Steve listen to Jan.

Soon, Jan and I also had to turn back and let our companions go on, but hope to join this crew again in the future.

On Saturday we went to Rogersville and back, starting from Temple Israel.  Our Git Up And Go has got up and went over the past few weeks so we took it real easy.

I noticed a farm vehicle coming up behind us and was sure it would have passed us if we hadn’t turned south on Finbrooke and gotten out of its way.  Some farm tractors don’t go so fast, but this one was moving on.

I had hoped that we had dropped it, but onward it came, relentlessly.

The fields are starting to be baled and this one will soon be ready.

Amber waves of grain.

The heat had brought a grass snake out onto the road.  As I tried to move it on it struck at me and hit my glove.  I laughed as it scooted into the grass.

Close by, this red barn appeared to be newly painted.  I wonder why barns started to be painted red instead of another color.

As we drove off from Temple Israel I noticed some riders that had parked at Mentor Baptist Church.  One of them called my name as we drove by and it turned out to be Dave Bates.

Two Feet and fellow rider Bates

I had interviewed Dave for this blog back in January and it was good to see him out.  I will also admit that it felt good to have a fellow member of the cycling community yell at me in a positive way.

I knew the other fellows that had ridden with Dave.  We had a collective discussion on parking at Mentor Baptist because this church has asked cyclists not to park on their lot anymore.  I pointed out that the synagogue welcomed cyclists and it was just south of Mentor on FR193.

Anyway, the usual insults started flying about, as happens when guys who know each other get together.  They asked why I hauled bikes around on the back of my car instead of riding them.  I asked them if they always sweat that much before a ride.

Mike, Lane, Marc, and Craig sweating and packing it up after the ride

Without fear of contradiction I can say that Lane sweats just taking his bike off the rack and Marc breaks out in perspiration trying to get his bike shorts on!

After we got home Jan asked if I knew that those fellows rode together.  I did not, but I will join them some weekend.

Fin

Well, the year is progressing and summer has started off early.  The flowers are looking good and I leave you with a couple of shots.

 

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Out There

  1. Steve says:

    What a great day! Is the McDonalds you stopped at the same one that has a billboard next to the Pet Cemetery, “Just off Exit 77?”

    As for barns being red, I believe it is because farmers used to add rust to the concoction they used to seal their wood. The rust helped kill algae and other things that tend to grow on wood. Nowadays, it’s just a tradition to paint them red.

    • rlhoover says:

      Steve, what a sharp eye!! But no, the McDs that we stopped at was about five miles NW of the exit to the west of #77, located in Willard, Mo. For a second I thought you had been on I-44 and stopped in our fair city. When you plan a visit [not if, but when] please let me have a big advance notice so that I can make a decent effort at being in shape and ready for you. We can get a big group ready to ride with you!

      Thanks for the ‘red barn’ info. Farmers are always big on Common Sense.

  2. Good to see you were “out there”. I noticed that red barn yesterday also. What I noticed were the white plaques (don’t know what they’re called) and wondered if his wife made him do that?

Leave a Reply

