A Century Observed

 One hundred years ago today, my grandparents Peter and Karin Solem of Norway disembarked from ship Hellvig Olav onto Ellis Island and began the process to become loyal citizens of these United States.

My mother’s parents lived in Spokane, Washington.  I was born and raised in Springfield, Missouri.  I don’t really have any memories of my grandmother.  She died while I was quite young.  I do remember my grandfather.  He came to visit us a couple of times in the early 1960s and I and my own young family went to see him in 1980, a few years before he passed on at the age of 100.  I remember him as a gentle man.

My mother’s parents raised four, upright, honorable children. These children raised eight, upright, honorable grandchildren. These grandchildren raised who knows how many upright, honorable great-grandchildren.

The line continues.

It matters how you live your life.

It matters to your descendants.

It matters to your country.

It matters.

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Ozarks, springfield missouri. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Century Observed

  1. You’re right, Ron, it matters. Honorable and dishonorable don’t just fall out of the sky. Nice story.

Leave a Reply

