Yes I Can

I am the type that usually avoids conflict.  If I am stuck, then I try to get through it with the least amount of blood spilled possible.

But this time, I went after it.

Coming home from work today, I took my usual route east on Trafficway.  I waited for the red light at National, a major north/south artery in town.  Perhaps this diagram will help.

The blue square shows my place and the red square is for a person I noticed across the street.  This person was also were waiting for the red light, but on the wrong side of the road.  I marked the placement of some cars on Trafficway by means of short black lines.  Trafficway is a four-lane road at this point, as is National.

All at once, the traffic clears on National and this person takes off across the street, against the red light.  Not only that, but if you notice the red line, this individual stays on the wrong side of the road and threads their way through the waiting oncoming cars, some of them attempting to turn right [north] onto National.  This person finally gets beyond these oncoming cars and wanders [my term] over to the correct side of the road.

The light turns green and I cross National [I’ve stopped shaking my head by now].  I decided to catch up with this person and talk with them, but when they turned off in a direction I was not going I decided it was not worth it this time.

What would I have asked or said?

“Why did you cross National on the wrong side of the road and on top of that, against the red light?”

“You made it harder for the rest of the cycling community that is trying to follow the law and show our city that we are responsible riders who do not ‘thumb our nose’ at authority.”

“What are you thinking?”

“Do you want to me shut up and leave you alone?”

I told Jan what happened when I got home and she wondered about this rider’s brain.

So, I let this opportunity slide.

Next time, maybe I won’t.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yes I Can

  1. tootlepedal says:

    I have many conversations that would have been killers if they had actually taken place.

Leave a Reply

