Dog days

In the ‘About’ section of this blog I mention that I write about life and cycling in the Ozarks.  Perhaps I should change this so that a comment can be made about the current heat/drought that the whole continent [Canada too?] is experiencing.

The rain barrels have been empty for some time and I have resorted to using city water and the runoff from the air conditioner for the garden.  Sometimes I have been able to get around five gallons of water from the AC.  That’s quite a bit and I appreciate it.

Talked with fellow rider Scotty today and he mentioned that his walnut tree leaves were starting to look stressed.  I told him that I have a five gallon bucket with three nail holes in the bottom.  I set the bucket next to my oak tree and fill it up to let it slowly seep out.  I have done that twice tonight already.  That should give it a good long drink.

Despite the heat I continue to commute, but little else.  Cold sports drink for the ride home, usually against a hot south wind.

Things will change.  Cold will come.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dog days

  1. tootlepedal says:

    This drought is serious enough to make the papers over here.

  2. rlhoover says:

    I am glad the rain over there let up enough for the start of the Olympics.

Leave a Reply

