Pick and Choose

No pics on this post folks, since I don’t have a camera.  Or a helmet.  Or skin on my right elbow.  Or knee.  Or sense.

I didn’t think the pavement was that wet [how wet does it have to be?].  I didn’t think I was going fast.  I was just doing a simple right turn when my front wheel lost traction and down I go.  Helmet cracked and the camera in my pocked left a bruise on my hip [nice ‘image’ on the skin though].

So, I need a new helmet and camera, but will keep the hip.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pick and Choose

  1. Juanita Kern says:

    Goodness, Ron..this is NOT good news! Thankfully you are still in one piece (I gather). PULEEEEEEEZE.. be careful!

    ________________________________

  2. tootlepedal says:

    Bad luck. I’m glad you were wearing a helmet.

    • rlhoover says:

      Tootle, you raise a good point. One that I take to heart. I always wear headgear on the commute or on a road trip, but sometimes Jan and I have been guilty of a short spin in the neighborhood sans helmet.

      No more.

      One cracked helmet is enough in the family.

  3. Jim says:

    Easier to replace cameras and helmets than hips! Glad you’re okay, Ron!

  4. Ow! Those “almost wet” roads are the ones that’ll get you. Glad you’re nothing but skinned and bruised….

  5. rlhoover says:

    Thanks, Tracy. When I raised up off the tarmac, I decided to lay back down for a few seconds before proceeding. Thankfully, the Steed came through unscathed.

  6. R1 says:

    Get a sturdier camera.
    R1

  7. Steve says:

    I’m always alarmed at just how little warning a bike gives you when its about to slip. When you’re walking on ice or other slippery surfaces, you generally have an idea of when you’re pushing you luck. Not so on a bike; one second all is well and the next you’re on the ground. Glad to see you made it through in decent shape. I’ll echo the comments on the helmet.

Leave a Reply

