A new camera

Still have the hip, but got a new camera.

This past weekend Jan and I visited the middle miles of the Frisco Highline Trail.

The section we rode was crushed limestone.

Parts of the trail deteriorate to double track with small gravel, some of it pretty rough, but we never had an incident or any close calls.  We stayed upright the whole time!

We saw a few rabbits and this old boy who refused to speak with me.

We left from the Walnut Grove trailhead and headed north toward Wishart.

There are no bridges south of Walnut Grove. We ended up going over about half a dozen as I recall.

The Sac River bridge had been vandalized and burned a few years back.  The replacement is steel and concrete.

Sac River. Not much of a stream until we get more rain.

Despite the lack of rain the poison ivy has been healthy, bless its heart.

At least it’s green

Flat riding is all you get on this trail.  At one point the east side rises up to a hillside and the west side descends to a small creek that feeds into the Sac River.

This was the biggest difference in terrain elevation that we saw on the trip.

A European touch is this round about in the middle of Polk County.

We crossed over a few cattle guards and also saw the reason why.

A few ol’ Bossy’s looking for green fields that got in Jan’s line of travel.

We went as far as mile marker #24, north of Sac River, and turned back. We had a total of around of sixteen miles.

The trail section between Willard and Walnut Grove is open horses and as we returned to WG, this rider was coming up from the south, finishing her day.

Jack is three and a half years old and gentle to this city boy’s touch. I felt quite brave stroking his neck and patting him on the side. Of course, in this picture Jan is the one petting him.

We had a good time.  I still plan on making the whole trip to Bolivar some day and we still look forward to doing the Katy Trail from Clinton to St. Louis.  That will be an event.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A new camera

  1. tootlepedal says:

    You are lucky to have a gentle trail like this. Our nearest bike trail is twenty miles away and seven miles long.

  2. I need to go ride that section one of these days. I’ve never done it.

    And…if you’ve not done the Katy, it needs to be done.

  3. Bill Lambert says:

    Sorry to hear about your hip and camera injury. Your new camera works great!

    Nice photos in a beautiful area.

    • rlhoover says:

      Thanks, Bill. The hip is looking better and I can sleep on my right side with more ease as the days progress. Yes, I am happy with the camera except that it does not have the ability to do time-lapse.

  4. R1 says:

    Where is a picture or ANY info about the new camera?? I also bought a new one (it arrived one week ago). Here is the review where I settled all my questions: http://www.dpreview.com/news/2012/06/29/panasoniczs15review You see listed prices over $200 but I found a “refurbished” one from Amazon for $141 (the box had been opened). Optical 32x zoom and 1080i HD video. Still trying it out at home and at church. I am very pleased at the performance and finding one at a bargain price.
    R1

  5. rlhoover says:

    The new camera is good, however it does not have a time lapse function [I love watching movies of clouds roiling through the sky]. I am taking care of it and am satisfied. The ‘refurbished’ category sounds like someone is playing with language.

Leave a Reply

