A Holiday Weekend

Monday will be Labor Day in the U.S., a national holiday.  Parades will be marched, much dead meat will be eaten, and many words will be spoken.

Some people will even ride their bicycles.

Here in the Ozarks we enjoyed a day full of rain from hurricane Isaac.  I got a little over two inches total from the event.  I didn’t get out in the rain to ride, but a fine cycling couple that I know braved the elements on Saturday for a thirty mile tour.

Jan and I did other things.  She is reading some books by Jan Karon while I finished Pearl S. Buck’s Pavilion of Women.  Following that I started Poor Folk by Fydor Dostoyevski.

On Saturday I started building brackets and shelves for the shed.  I had some scrap 2 x 4s to make the brackets out of and some extra plywood for the shelving.  It helped clean up the shed wonderfully.

The new brackets/shelves are in the upper middle of the photo with the older shelves to the right of them.

Also visible in the photo above is the red wagon the grandchildren enjoy when they visit and a world map.  My grandfather gave this map to our family in the early 60s.  My brothers will no doubt remember it.  I have fond memories of grandpa and of looking at this map often while growing up.  My mom and dad passed it along to me a few years back for which I am grateful.

Another project started this weekend is one that involves paint, the indoor wall type, not the Matt Gholson type [we are not even close to that type!].  Jan wanted to repaint our daughter Sarah’s old room.  She and Sarah picked out the color and now we are at it.

Doing the trim work first.

Note the drama now added to the room with the application of this new color!

Jan’s garden got a good watering from the aforementioned storm.  We will be getting green beans and peppers for still a few more weeks.

From right to left, green beans, sweet potato, peppers

The cat is content also.

Does anyone else have a cat that eats lettuce?

And finally, I have started to lock the bikes up even when they are in the garage.  This after reading an article on bike theft.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

