Now what was I doing?

The rain we had over this past weekend from Isaac did the yard a good turn but it was too late to do the garden any real good.  We closed up part of the shop and pulled the tomatoes and dug up the last sweet potato.

The second crop of green beans with the now pulled tomatoes

The second green bean planting does well and we have no problem with watering now that both barrels are full.

The neighborhood wildlife continue to thrive now that there is an abundance of grass.

Our local Peter Rabbit

On the bike front I have two reports to make.  One, The recent spill I took that ruined my old camera also caused damage to my right pedal.  I did not realized this until yesterday morning when I noticed my right foot had a looser fit than usual.  An inspection showed that the pedal had been broken and two screws were missing.

I suspect the breakage was a result of the unscrewed part of the pedal bending back and forth resulting in failure.  My LBS did not have a right sided pedal for sale, so I went back home and scrounged up two screws that fit and mirabile dictu the thing works, DIY!

The final event is that my new prescription sunglasses came in.  I got new ones since I put the old ones down somewhere and never could remember where that location was!  [Derisive comments may now be uttered.]

I picked a more aero-dynamic shape which means that I will be able to get home sooner when I leave from work.  That is, if I can remember where I live.

Commuter Incognito

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now what was I doing?

  1. tootlepedal says:

    The glasses certainly look as though they are worth a mile an hour or so. There will be no snarky comments about mislaying things from this quarter.

  2. rlhoover says:

    Tootle, I should emulate your restraint, however, I realize that for me to go one mph faster would take more energy than I now have. –Regards, Ron

  3. I’m thinking you made a wise choice with the glasses. They make you look distinguished…or something.

  4. Steve A says:

    How do those glasses work on the ride TO work?

  5. rlhoover says:

    Steve, my a.m. commute is before sunrise. My regular glasses cause enough drag with a resultant extra expenditure of energy so that I am ready for a bagel and coffee by morning break.

Leave a Reply

