First day of fall

Today was the day for the Springbike Metric Century.  We had helped last year, but were unable to either help or ride this time around due to certain family matters.  But what we were able to do was some small yard chores and cleaning up the house.

After a run to the recycle center and lunch, we took out for a spin around our fair city.

Right off I have good news to report and I don’t think I can do a good enough job in emphasizing how good this news really is. The persimmon tree is loaded and some of them had already fallen, ripe to the taste. We ate about a dozen before moving on. We had wondered how the tree had reacted to this years drought. It appears to have done well.

We headed west through town and stopped off to visit the Xeriscape Garden along National Ave.  This garden has a wide variety of plants and flowers in different watering zones.  I did not pay too much attention to the zones, but the colorful flowers caught my eye.

Some type of rose bush

Lantana. I could not remember the name so Jan had to remind me…

A cash crop. Can anyone guess what it is?

A closeup of an annual visitor. The Monarchs are moving south.

Leaving the Xeriscape we headed to Fassnight Park and the new bike path that passes under Campbell Ave. and loops around the swimming pool.  My brothers and I swam at this pool every so often while growing up.  It was a concrete monstrosity built in the 20s that has since been rebuilt.

Heading roughly south on the west end of the park. Across the creek on the right and up and over the rise is Parkview High School. I sometimes rode my bike to school, but not as a habit.

A view on the south side of the pool with Parkview in the distance. A few years back the whole school except for the office area and the gym was torn down and rebuilt. The classroom wings that I remember no longer exist. I attended there without benefit of air conditioning, but nowadays that is considered some sort of right.

With the past behind us we headed home taking our time through the Missouri State University campus [a football game was in progress] and went by Hammond’s Field and Hammond’s Tower.

The Springfield Cardinals [AA], who are a farm club of the St. Louis Cardinals, won their first Texas League Championship title this season.

The Tower is quite an addition to the city skyline. The building to the left is the Federal Courthouse. I was a juror for a federal criminal case that was tried there four years ago. That was a story in itself to be told in another venue.

We headed on home and found these large concrete barriers along east Catalpa.  They are blocking access to undeveloped land that is surrounded by residences.  I wonder if a developer is planning on construction here and this is just prep work.

This area is probably not big enough for bike trails, but one can wish.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First day of fall

  1. I just noticed those barriers there for the first time this morning and wondered what was up. I saw 2 deer back there a month or so ago.

    • rlhoover says:

      I have often looked for deer in that spot also. When our children were young and in elementary school, one year we had a particularly bad winter and three deer came through our neighborhood. I saw the tracks in the snow after I came home from work.

Leave a Reply

