Warm Weekend

Jan and I got out a little over a week ago on a Sunday morning following worship services to take advantage of what may be that last good weekend of the year.  We went to Temple Israel out east of Springfield and did the loop to Rogersville and back.  The crosswind out of the south was not hard to deal with and we noticed a rise in the humidity as the day went on.

We both commented on the green fields all around.  This following a drought laden summer where brown seemed to be the color of choice.

Green fields with fall-colored trees

Even with this grass, many farms are feeding hay.

With the rains were have received lately the trees are putting on quite a show, but we still need more rain to catch up with the year’s deficit.

Simply beautiful

Leaves already falling

These llamas are showing a winter coat…

Thanksgiving/Halloween decorations and fall flowers.

I have always enjoyed a red barn.

I look forward to each ride with Jan.  She is especially glad that the Riding Rule this year is ‘Distance, not Speed’.

Cold (or even cool) weather riding is not on Jan’s List of Favorite Things.  She much prefers setting the garden to bed, composting the raised beds and things like that there.  Last week we assembled the last raised bed for the garden.  I used treated yellow pine with steel braces at the corners.

Here in particular you can see the newest raised bed.

Along with putting the garden to bed, we have been occupied with a new member to the family.

No name yet.

We had to put our other cat, Sassy, to sleep a few days before our trip to Colorado.  This new member came from a vet in Nixa, a small city south of Springfield.  Of the three or four cats that we have owned over the years this one has promise of being my favorite.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Warm Weekend

  1. This post is especially appreciated right now, since it is grey and cold in Le Sud. Lovely colors.

  2. rlhoover says:

    I love the color also, Gerry. My pics are only average, not on par with Tootlepedal, but every once in a while I get one right. I guess ‘grey and cold’ is here for a while.

  3. tootlepedal says:

    I think your pictures are fine. Wonderful colours in this set. The braces on the corners of your raised beds are impressive. I’ll bring them to the attention of my gardener.

  4. tootlepedal says:

    Mrs Tootlepedal asks if your raised bed frames are anchored to the ground in any way or are they just resting?

    • rlhoover says:

      They are just resting. In some spots I needed to level the ground. The result is that some of the boards are maybe a half-inch or so below the surface. My own gardener (wife) likes raised beds since they are easier to weed and she does not have to travel as far to pick the produce!

  5. Juanita Kern says:

    I loved this posting about your fall trip and the lovely fall photos attached. I took the liberty of copying and pasting a couple of them into an e-mail which I sent to several of my CA and WA friends and family.Have already received positive comments back from them. Looks like Jan is going to have a HUGE garden come next spring/summer if she fills all those raised beds with seeds! Sounds like work to me.

    Juanita

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

