The weekend

Seven trees produce plenty of leaves.

Twenty-two bags of them so far.

A fall crop

We still have plenty of leaves to fall, so the total number of bags is bound to possibly double.

After dumping the leaves we visited a couple of church bazaars.  As we were leaving the one at Grace United Methodist we heard the organ being played.  We found our way to the sanctuary and sat for a while as the organist practiced for tomorrow’s services.

He was pretty good and played Bach’s Fugue in D for us.

Tomorrow brings the Bass Pro Marathon.  We have had some runners come to Springfield since the New York Marathon was cancelled.  The route goes through our neighborhood and I got a couple of shots of the mile markers.

Tomorrow also brings the end of daylight savings time.  The morning commute will be a bit brighter for a while.

Delaware Street in the morning

This time exposure was taken at Delaware and Grand.

About the most interesting thing I have seen on the morning commute was a skunk on Drury University campus.  I said, “Hey!” to it and at once its tail shot straight up and he watched me as I passed by.  I was a good twenty feet from him and he must have felt that I presented no serious threat.  From that distance it was fun to see him in the wild.

A more somber sight is this ghost bike set up where a fellow was struck by a semi and killed a few days back.

Eric was riding at night, ignored the red light at a major street and was struck.  A friend of mine knew of him and said it seemed he was the type of person who liked to live on the edge.  R.I.P.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The weekend

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Where do you put your leaves? Do you have a community compost site?

    • rlhoover says:

      Yes, we use a couple of them. I don’t take them all to the same place on the same day since once they told me I was bringing too much! I try to stretch it out over the two community compost sites and we compost many of them for our own use.

  2. I don’t like to see flowers at the side of the road like that, but it’s a good reminder of our extreme vulnerability out there.

Leave a Reply

