Sights and founds

Our city has been undergoing a spate of bike lane creation.  Some good and some not so good.  The jury, in my view, is still out on if they are worth it.

Anyway, I see where Campbell, a main north/south street, is getting a makeover.  I wonder if bike lanes will be added as a result.

Just scraping, no repaving yet

The city put up their Christmas lights along the inner city streets this week.

A good time of year

While trying to get in as much cycling as possible with the year winding down (I think my goal of 3500 miles will be reached), I still have other responsibilities.

I have no goal of how many bags of leaves to collect

Tracy Wilkins is a fellow blogger.  He recently suggested to the city of Springfield an improvement on an intersection that he and I use on our commutes.  I hope his idea flies.

While riding home today, I was on this street and spotted 30¢ spread out over a small area!

I thought of Tracy and knew he would be passing this way later on, but not wishing him to be distracted while riding, I picked up the money and went home.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sights and founds

  1. Josh Even says:

    Ha! I am obsessed with the hunt for spare change while commuting. I have a separate coin jar for that pileof money saved! BTW, it makes you wonder what all this clamoring about a bad economy is all about. In America you can find money on the streets while everyone else laments on the state of the union.

    • rlhoover says:

      Josh, your comment about the economy is the same as what Jan and I have said. Another good place to find spare change is the Galloway Station parking lot on Saturday morning after a big Friday night! People fumbling for their car keys lose a lot.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I’ll be interested to see of your bike lanes work out well. If they are just lines at the side of roads, they tend to fill up with glass and small stones because they lack the useful sweeping up facility provided by car tyres and in fact the cars sweep the rubbish into them.

    • rlhoover says:

      This is why I avoid some streets simply because they DO have bike lanes painted on them. I feel safer riding in the car lanes and only use the bike lanes when traffic forces me to.

  3. Steve A says:

    Darned nice of you to keep Tracy from getting distracted!

Leave a Reply

