A summing up

As I reflect over the past year, its goals, achievement and failures, I realize that this is a First World Problem similar to distress over smashed Pringles in the bottom of the tube.

Well, let me get on with it and see how I did over the past year based on what I wrote a year ago.  Goals came under two categories, Life and Cycling.  First, Life

Avoid stepping in animal waste (dog poop).  – 100% (Even with the ten piles currently in the back yard that need attention.)

Do not drop clothes pins while hanging clothes out to dry.  – Fail, as Tootlepedal warned me.

Try to grow a couple of persimmon trees.  Yes!  I have two small groups that came up.

Do better at helping Jan with the garden.  – I think I did ok with this.  We added a seventh raised bed and replaced another.

In general, toughen up.  – Maintained general health although sugar is probably at the same level as a year ago.  Still not running.

Continue (please note the choice of word) to be kind to my daughter’s dogs so that they will not have anything to fear from me.  Success here, but they have been given new nicknames.

Keep the sock drawer neat and orderly.  Let us go on to the next item.

Fireworks, LOUD FIREWORKS on Independence Day.  Pretty much a fail.  Must do better.

And now the Cycling goals.

Commute to work every day that I can.  Did well and only had one fall.

Try to take a more active part in the local cycling community.  Fail here also, but we did ride with some friends a number of times.

Ride 3,500 miles.  Best success of the year.

Do that century.  Fail.  No other comment needed.

Ride the trails.  Pretty good on this one.  Sam took me on the trail through the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs and Jan and I enjoyed the local Frisco Highline Trail.  We have yet to get to the Katy Trail here in Missouri.

Continue to find new routes.  Success, but more riding will bring more new routes.

No riding distance goals will be set for 2013.  I just want to ride and enjoy without the constant thought of “How far did I go?”

Thanks for coming with me thus far.

Stay happy,

twofeet

 

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A summing up

  1. Steve says:

    An excellent year to be sure, despite your so-called “failures.” Congratulations on a great cycling year and thank you for sharing your adventures and lessons learned with your public. Here’s looking forward to 2013!

  2. Gerry says:

    Nice work on the Resolutions, Ron, although I think you set yourself up for disaster with the clothespins one. All the best in 2013, and I’ll be waiting to read about that Century!

    • rlhoover says:

      Thanks, Gerry. I suppose one disaster of that type can be allowed per year, but Hope always rises in the human heart! Looking forward to the accounts of preparation for and execution of the Haute Route!

  3. tootlepedal says:

    A pretty good year all round. Seven raised beds is very good. I can feel a tidy sock drawer coming on in 2013. Happy new year.

  4. R1 says:

    Grieving the smashed Pringles. Feeling the pain, bro.

    Re a comment in the next entry, I would like to point out that falls while thinking are rare, unless you are doing the thinking while saddled up and who would do that?

    Re sock drawer – yer setting yerself up for another fail there, I think. As for photos, nix nix. They end up on YouTube and the outcry never dies down. Leave no evidence and just tell everyone it was perfection. You should expect to be trusted in such reports. Crime scene photos: bad. Secrets: good. I didn’t see you, you didn’t see me, and I didn’t see a thing (wisdom courtesy George Jones and Ray Charles).

    Look! A squirrel…!

Leave a Reply

