Early Spring

Riding in Winter has its own joys.  Leg warmers.  Extra gloves. Warm head gear and underclothes.  You have to dress well to ride in the cold.  I seem to like it.

Every winter, I tell myself to make sure to keep riding when the temps reach 95° and more.  Every summer I struggle to get out in such heat.  I think that is why riding in winter is something that I kind of look forward to.  No heat.  No perspiration.

But we have not had that much cold in our neck of the woods so far.  In fact,

This is getting to be a habit.

This is getting to be a habit.

And then these crocus came up in the front yard.

DSCN6765

DSCN6766

We have crocus of other colors, but they are not up [,yet!].

***************************

With things like this going on, Jan and I rode over to Fassnight Park this afternoon.  A good east tailwind assisted us on the trip out.  The park was mostly empty despite the sunshine.

Fassnight Creek empties into Wilsons Creek on out west of town.

Fassnight Creek empties into Wilsons Creek on out west of town.

Also close is Parkview High School, my alma mater, and the Springfield Park Board Skate Park.

I never was a skater when growing up.

I never was a skater when growing up.

We also rode on over to see my elementary school, Portland.

The library,seen on the right, was added LONG after I left.

The library,seen on the right, was added LONG after I left.

I remember riding my red Schwinn to Portland.  But we were not allowed to ride to school until the third grade.  We never questioned that rule, just obeyed it.

****************************

The trees are all bare now, except for the evergreens and oaks.  My daughter is always taking pictures of bare trees for some reason.  It makes no sense to me.  They are just un- processed firewood in my book.  Nevertheless, I tried my hand at what some would call art.

I call this Tree Without Leaves

I call this Tree Without Leaves

Maybe I should call this one Tree Without Branches

Maybe I should call this one Tree Without Branches

By now you should be getting the idea....

By now you should be getting the idea….

And a winter sky scene.

DSCN6774

A final note on time passing on.  On the way home the other day, I saw where the old Federow Iron and Metal building was being dismantled.

DSCN6755

I know Mr. Federow’s youngest son from high school days.  Seeing the destruction of this building is a sad sight for me.

DSCN6757

A team of Amish workers were removing the roof and a few days after this shot the metal trusses were taken for scrap, I suppose.

Just seeing this building year after year (it has been on my route to and from work since day one) constantly reminded me of good friends and good times at Parkview.  I hoist a bidon and salute them!

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Early Spring

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Good to see your crocuses. We are hoping for our first snowdrop soon. Good to see an effort at arty tree shots. Everyone should take some.

  2. I noticed this morning the building was pretty much down this morning, but I hadn’t noticed anything before today. It needed to be taken down. That place has been an eyesore for a while and I’m convinced it was probably a pretty active hobo camp.

  3. Deacon Rick says:

    Thanks for explaining the mystery building at Portland School. I was puzzled trying to figure out which angle you had taken the picture because the extra building didn’t match my memories.

    Re bikes to Portland, my recollection is we lived TOO CLOSE to quality for permission to ride our bikes there!! (Bike traffic jams for third graders??) It wasn’t until we went to Jarrett High School (miles and miles and miles away) that I remember being able to ride a bike to school.

    Now I am going to see if I can find any historical info on Fassnight Park. Always loved that one. I wonder what the “early Springfield” story about it is.

    R1

    • rlhoover says:

      I always reasoned that the school district didn’t let first and second graders bike to school because they thought we were incompetent, something that may still be true. Fassnight was built in the 1920s as I recall. I also remember our toes getting torn up on the rough concrete paving.

  4. R1 says:

    I had thought we couldn’t ride bikes to Portland School because we lived too close. (Bike traffic jams among the third graders.)

    Upon further painful reflection, I do remember that we could ride our bikes to Portland School at a certain point. But, as I say, it carries a painful element.

    I remember somewhere we found a large box turtle (one of Dad’s weekend river trips for us?) and brought it home. I took it to class at Portland the next week and you wanted to show it in your class also, so I took it to you after my classmates saw it. You were then going to leave it in my bike basket, parked outside.

    At the end of the day when I went to get my bike, no turtle. Don’t recall how this trauma unfolded but you reported you had left it safe in the bike basket. We took the story to the teachers (no doubt suspecting turtle-napping by jealous classmates). Naturally that suspicion went nowhere. Then we were taken to the school janitor to ask if he had seen anything. He reported that while mowing the school yard he had run across a “large terapin” (as in RUN ACROSS WITH THE MOWER) and chopped it up pretty good. No further information ever came to light.

    This traumatic grief has haunted me for more than 50 years and no doubt contributed to all my mental and emotional problems. I brought an innocent turtle to its foul and bloody demise in the big city.

    I blame the public school system.

    R1

  5. Pingback: Things to do and see | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

