BCFO and Frisco

Saturday morning we participated in the Cycle for Life, put on by the Breast Cancer Foundation of the Ozarks.

Ridin' for Pink

Ridin’ for Pink

The starting point was James River Assembly of God church, with three options of 10, 25, and 50 miles.

The 8 a.m. start for the 25 mile route.

The 8 a.m. start for the 25 mile route.

We did not feel quite ready to tackle the 50 miler, and the other two were a bit short.  So, we combined some sections of the last two options and came up with our own 35 miles.

This map is taken from Map My Ride

This map is taken from Map My Ride

Our rides usually consist of the two of us and we are not used to riding with a group.  But the other cyclists soon stretched out and we also took turns in passing and being passed by others.

Heading out on a beautiful morning.

Heading out on a beautiful morning.

The cool of spring has finally said good-bye, the fields were green, the birds singing.

DSCN7058

I have always called these birds Canadians, but I may be wrong.

A new fence

A new fence

DSCN7063

Post-ride lunch was back at the church.  We enjoyed the time and the spicy beans and rice.

DSCN7067

*********************************************************************************

Sunday morning brought ½” of rain, but by the time services were over the sky was clearing up. We loaded up the city bikes and headed out on the Frisco Highline Trail.

Sweet with not much taste otherwise

Sweet with not much taste otherwise

I saw these mulberries and not having tasted them before, we stopped for a sample.  The red ones are not ripe yet, while the black ones have finished ripening.

Also in full bloom were many plants of toxicodendron radicans.

I assure you there was plenty of it out there.

I assure you there was plenty of it out there.

Later on in the season they will begin to blister up on themselves.  Serves them right.

We took a stop at the end of the tarmac in north Willard and continued on for a few miles before returning.

This cafe is known for its pies.  One day,...

This cafe is known for its pies. One day,…

I final thought on my way home from work in 91°.  ‘I remember 65° ago when it was 25° and I had my leg warmers on!’

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BCFO and Frisco

  1. Canada might claim them, but they are Canada geese, not Canadian. I’ve never understood that, just lived with it (like most things in my life). Great adventure. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

