Riding the Frisco Highline

After three weeks of summer cold [me], Jan and I were finally able to get out on Saturday and put some miles behind us.

DSCN7194

We picked the Frisco Highline Trail which goes northwest out of Springfield and then up north to Bolivar.

After reaching Willard we went north on County Road Z and took a stop at the Willard/Cox Health Center.  It looked like a fixie had beat us to it.

DSCN7197

A few weeks back I came into ownership of a Garmin Oregon [no, they did not pay me to say that].  I know it is not specifically designed for cycling [rather for hiking] but it does a good enough job.  So, with GPS in hand we struck out away from the trail and enjoyed some of the farm roads around the area.

DSCN7206

Going from trail to road was fun and afforded us a wider variety of sights.

This kitten, semi-wild, had a loud meow for such a small body.  If circumstances had been different, we might have tried to take it home and get it all fixed up to stay with us.

This kitten, semi-wild, had a loud meow for such a small body. If circumstances had been different, we might have tried to take it home and get it all fixed up to stay with us.

Of course other animals are just for looking at.

Of course other animals are just for looking at.

We met Connie and Joe up by Pearl.  They were out for a time like Jan and I.

We met Connie and Joe up by Pearl. They were out for a peaceful time like Jan and I.

One thing that I have noticed more this summer is all the green.  This may be since we had and bad drought last summer.

DSCN7196

The Garmin did well [we were never going to get lost anyway] and we plan on extending our route up to Bolivar one day.

DSCN7203

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Riding the Frisco Highline

  1. Matt Gholson says:

    My Mom and Dad are leaving in the morning to ride parts of the Katy trail and camp. Looks like they couldn’t have picked a better time.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I’m glad the Garmin worked out well. I was too mean to get one with mapping capability.

Leave a Reply

