More of the same

“Everyone talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it!” — possibly a quote from Mark Twain.

While my blog buds Tracy and Gerry enjoy the Rockies and make final preps for Haute Route, we in the U.S. midwest have rain and flooding is some areas.

This screen shot could have been taken from any day of the last week.

This screen shot could have been taken from any day of the last week.

Some places north of us have gotten up towards 20″ [50 cm] of rain this week.

Wet in the a.m. and drier in the evening.  That is when we have been able to get out.

It will pass.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More of the same

  1. Gerry says:

    Thanks for the shout-out blog bud!

  2. tootlepedal says:

    Have you been bike commuting in all that wet weather?

    • rlhoover says:

      Every morning I have arisen, ready to go. But, I don’t like to start out in the rain. We had only two mornings this week where I took the chance at a dry commute, yet every afternoon has been partly sunny and dry. The forecast is for more of the same into next week. I don’t want to sound like I complain. We are blessed to live on high ground. I cannot imagine what it would be like to have a flooded home.

  3. Steve A says:

    Dry here in the OS rainforest.

  4. Deacon Rick says:

    I offer my objection to the craven yielding to metric measure. The United States is the last bastion of measurement that was good enough for the kings of England. Everyone knows what 20″ of rain is. Every patriot, I mean. Funny little decimal numbers — who knows or wants to?? Fap.

    • rlhoover says:

      What is in a measurement? A climb by any other measurement would be just as challenging. My apologies to William Shakespeare.

      My cycling odometer recently went on the fritz. By error, I recalibrated it to measure kilometers. I might leave it that way. One hundred kilometers sounds better than sixty-two miles.

Leave a Reply

