Views from the saddle – Aug. 15, 2013

We start off at the top.  We went down to the Table Rock Lake area and in the afternoon spent the time with our good friend Veneda.  I have written of previous visits here and here.

Veneda and Jan

Veneda and Jan

After lunch our gracious hostess took us out on the lake for a ride.  Here is the Garmin track.

Table Rock is widely known for being a clean, clear lake.

Table Rock is widely known for being a clean, clear lake.

He headed south under the Hwy 86 bridge but did not go as far as Arkansas.

He headed south under the Hwy 86 bridge but did not go as far as Arkansas.

We saw this wedding chapel from afar.  We had visited it on a previous trip and had mentioned it in a blog.  Naturally, being a male, I cannot remember its name.

We saw this wedding chapel from afar. We had visited it on a previous trip and had mentioned it in a blog. Naturally, being a male, I cannot remember its name.

We stopped at a cliff-sided cove and had dessert.

We stopped at a cliff-sided cove and had dessert.

On the way in I caught these three persons having the time of their lives jumping off one on the bluffs.

On the way in I caught these three persons having the time of their lives jumping off one on the bluffs.

Veneda invited us to return for another outing on the lake and we will probably accept.

Prior to this, we had ridden horses at the Shepherd of the Hills attraction west of Branson.

I have not ridden a horse often and took the day off from work to do so.

I have not ridden a horse often and took the day off from work to do so.

Jan has more experience on horseback than yours truly, but I had a good time and ended up just letting ol’ Oreo walk along the trail however he wanted to.

Jan on Winston

Jan on Winston

I used the black/white feature on the camera since the Old West did not have color photos!

And then, prior to this I had gone out on the bike for an early morning ride and had crossed paths with Tracy.

Tracy is such a decent fellow and did so well in Colorado last week.  Just seeing him encourages me to ride some hills!

Tracy is such a decent fellow and did so well in Colorado last week. Just seeing him encourages me to ride some hills!

The sunrise was a sight to behold, giving promise of a good day ahead.

Image008

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

