Taxes at work

Yesterday and this morning I noticed two examples of Government At Work.

Now, I am not a big fan of government.  James Madison observed, “The necessity of any Government is a misfortune. This necessity however exists; and the problem to be solved is, not what form of Government is perfect, but which of the forms is least imperfect.”

When I think about it, there are examples of government almost everywhere I look, paved streets, traffic lights, a beautiful sunrise.  No, wait, not that last one.

Back to the two examples, I rode Southcreek Trail last evening and saw this bike repair stop.

A bike stand and a pump.

A bike stand and a pump.

The pump worked well.

The other example is this group of workers patching a street at 6:15 this morning.

Street work

It was a large section to repair, so I guess they worked overnight.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taxes at work

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Unlike you, I am a fan of good government. Without good government, the rich do as they like and the poor get poorer. If they provide good facilities too, then that is a bonus.

  2. rlhoover says:

    Tom, I would have to agree with you and say that I am in favor of ‘good government’. But discussing and defining ‘good’ would take up too much space on my WordPress account!

    By the way, please accept my congratulations and good wishes on behalf of your country for the new addition to the royal family. God bless her!

  3. Gerry says:

    That’s a nice little bike repair center. I can only imagine how many minutes that would last in France…

  4. rlhoover says:

    The official opening for the new section/repair center was this morning. I understand it has seven bike tools on tethers. I am curious as to why the French would dismantle something like this.

Leave a Reply

