A few things

I know a lot of us have had nails or some type of spike through our tires.  I even save mine as some sort of trophy, “Look at what I survived!”  But this last week I had a close call and was not aware of it until one of the fellows I work with called it to my attention.

A nail through the inside edge of my right walking shoe.

A nail through the inside edge of my right walking shoe.

As I said, I did not know it had happened.  The culprit now shares space with my other close calls.

This morning, Jan and I rode the Frisco Highline Trail, a well known rails to trails path in our neck of the woods.  We shared the path of other cyclists who participated in the Iron Horse Gravel Grinder.  Riding on gravel seems to have taken hold of a good size portion of the cycling population, but it will not get hold of me.

The section between Springfield and Willard is paved.

The section between Springfield and Willard is paved.

We found a few mulberry trees with ripening fruit, also too much poison ivy.

With a tip ‘o the chapeau to TP, this was the best photo I could get of a scissor-tailed flycatcher.

The state bird of Oklahoma.

The state bird of Oklahoma.

We rode a bit over 25 kilometers and know that we have to improve as the year goes on.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few things

  1. tootlepedal says:

    A fine bird picture. I am entirely with you on the subject of riding on gravel. I cannot see the charm of it at all. 25k looks like a good start.

  2. Johnny White says:

    Woah, that is a nasty nail! Good thing it was just a close call. And good thing you didn’t have a close encounter with the poison ivy.

Leave a Reply

